Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I rated this a 4, because you really need to add a lot of seasoning to this. I used flounder, and floured the fish first. Also, I used half potato flakes and half panko. Overall, a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Everyone in my family enjoyed this recipe. I may try this recipe with another type of fish next time as the sole was very thin and broke into pieces when plating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was a great way to use the flounder I got on sale. I also used panko instead of the potato flakes but I thought the flavor was EXCELLENT. I didn't taste a lot of mustard (I wouldn't have minded!) and I thought it needed just a little more seasoning. But this was definitely worth trying and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Perfect just as written. I used my husband's fresh caught bluegill and crappie. We all loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Wow! This reminded me of the Fish Fries that all the restaurants and hamburger joints in the Rochester NY area serve every Friday! I double dipped, as suggested, to make the coating extra crispy. I recommend blotting the filets with paper towels to dry them a bit before dipping in the egg batter, to help the coating stick well. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing and it was just fine. If you double-dip, you will need twice as much of the egg/mustard/salt mixture as the recipe calls for, but no extra potato flakes needed. Serve with french fries and cole slaw to make the complete, traditional Fish-Fry. Note that this recipe is gluten-free, which is also a good thing! Thank-you, Kimber, for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Just made this recipe...added some seasoned breadcrumbs to the potato flakes and used perch. Awesome! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Christopher will eat this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
A good recipe... I used extra virgin olive oil and only 2.5 tbsp at that (my filets were not that big). I used a Panko coating instead of the mashed potato. I enjoyed this very much, and it was easy. I will tweek it a little next time to enhance to taste (I omitted the salt). Overall the coating did wash out the flavor of the sole a little, but again they were thin filets so that was a factor. I would recommend this in an instant, but thicker filets would be in order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I used an extra egg, planning to double dip. This was an excellent change from batter fried. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I am so happy with this, because I finally found a way to get my 7 y.o. to eat fish! He won't eat a lot of it, but I'll take what I can get. ;-) It turned out perfectly: light and crispy, w/o being greasy or too thick, like many others. Now, if I could just find more natural potato flakes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by earthygirl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 31-40 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States