Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I only had potato 'buds' versus potato flakes, but much to my surprise they turned out great. ( I had onced used the potato buds in a baked fish recipe that didn't turn out too good). This time I used the deep fryer. Very easy and quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Excellent! My son who is a mustard lover thought the mustard taste was wonderful. I personally would prefer a less pronounced mustard taste and would decrease the mustard by half. The breading was great, needs no additional seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
I have never had luck pan frying anything with breading and thought the tip about double dipping it (egg then breading then egg then breading) worked great! Other than that I thought that the recipe needed more flavor. I added Italian seasoning and dried parsly to the potato flakes and used dijon mustard instead. Next time I will add some other spices. Still a great, very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
YUMMY! My husband is a fish-fry aficionado and he loved this recipe! I didn't think it tasted mustardy at all. I mixed two eggs, the mustard and 1/2 tsp. Old Bay and put it in the fridge for about an hour to blend the flavors. It came out great and I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
Looking at the reviews, I was expecting a better tasting dish. This tasted like potato flakes and the mustard gave it a slightly bitter flavour. Not a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
We loved the fish.I did use the flour first and added some bread crumbs. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joyce
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
I was worried about the mustard, but this worked out nicely. I used walleye pike which I had on hand and substituted finely crushed corn flakes for approx. 1/3 of the potato flakes. I also added a dash of garlic powder and floured my fish before the egg bath as some suggested. The mustard and egg bath was very thick so I added a splash of water, and everything worked out very nicely. The coating was crispy and had a nice flavor, not overpowered by mustard at all...a bit yellow due to the yellow mustard, but nice. I will certainly use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
very easy to make indeed. serve with lemon, mayo & chilli sauce. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
Excellent! When I saw what was being used for the breading I suspected this might be good, and it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This was the first time I have made sole fish, it was great, a very mild tasting fish. I used bread crumbs instead of potato flakes(didn't have it), dijon mustard(1 Tbspn) instead of yellow mustard. I also added spices to the bread crumbs - garlic powder and minced dried onions. I will definitely make this again and add oregano to bread crumbs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States