Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Well! I must say,I was excited to find this recipe. All day I was thinking of frying some talapia fillets, so I logged on and searched for a good fish batter. After viewing quite a few,I decided this one sounded the most tasty and unique. I was not dissapointed...My husband, who is quite a cook could not identify the "mustard" ingredient as he was eating...he kept guessing untill I finally told him. The fillets came out crunchy and golden brown as promised! As I had no potato flakes,I used Italian bread crumbs. Also, I fry in coconut oil because it is good for you....bottom line....This is great and I will use always. Just a thought...I bet this would also be great as a batter for FRIED CHICKEN!! Thanks for an interesting and delicious recipe Kimber! PS-I made a side dish to go with it called "ZUCCHINI TOMATO TOSS" also on "All Recipes" website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
It is the method, not kind of fish. First time I did this with flounder which were very thin fillets; second time, Swai which is thicker. Delicious both times, just the time had to be adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petoskey, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I loved how crunchy the breading got! I have never achieved that with bread crumbs!I used Talapia. I would use a little less dijon next time, but that is just my personal taste. This is a recipe that delivers what it says:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I am giving this a 3 for tast and a 4 for ease. I think it would have been better using some seasoning with the potato flakes because it had a very "potato" taste. I was also not crazy about the flounder that we used. It was semi-fishy tasting. I think I will try again using tilapia and seasoned mashed pototato flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Excellent! I have never been able to fry fish, and tonight I did. Used the advice of dredging in flour first, adding extra seasoning into the egg mixture and did not have potato flakes but used crushed RITZ crackers. I had those frozen flounder pkgs and sometimes those are really fishy tasting, not this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Quick and easy. I used flounder filets and instead of potato flakes, I used Cracker meal. Also dredged in flour before dipping in the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redhead1976
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I made this for dinner and got rave reviews from my family. I added garlic,parmesan and seasoning to the mustard mixture. I also dipped in flour/potato then mustard and back to flour/potato mix which made a nice crust. I will definitely be cooking this again! It's great, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this recipe last night for dinner and everybody really liked it. I followed the recipe as stated but I did first dredge in flour, then egg mixture and lastly the potato flakes. I didn't give it a 5 star rating b/c I think it would be better with some seasoning added to it. Next time, I'll try it w/ some old bay or cayenne pepper to spice it up. All three of my kids LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spunky2222

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was good and a huge step up from store-brand fried fish! I enjoyed it! Just think you have to be a fish lover to enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Great recipe. Used tilapia and I followed others advice and floured the fish before dipping it in egg. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States