Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Seriously crunchy fried fish - love it! I've made this twice now with the addition of a flour dusting before frying. The mustard takes fish to a whole new level of yumminess that will please both adults AND kids. A major plus is that by using GF flour to dust the fish, this recipe is GLUTEN FREE! I've made it with tilapia and grouper, both worked well. The first time, I prepped all the fish, then put them into the pan. The second time, I had more fish, so dropped each one into the pan as soon as it was coated. That was a mistake. The coating came off a few of the fillets and what remained was little gummy where it met the fish. So for fish perfection, dust all the fillets in flour, then run them all through the first dip/potato dredge, then all of them through the second dip/dredge, then finally fry them up, in batches, if needed. The short resting times between the steps made a REAL difference in finished quality. I let the fish rest on a wire rack, which helps a lot, too. The top of a broiler pan would work as well. The second time I made them I added cajun spice from the recipe for Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi and loved that, too. I put the spices in the mustard/egg dip. Terrific! This is a perfect base recipe for fried fish. The bottom line - the potato flakes, mustard, and rest between steps results in perfect fish! **UPDATE** Made tonight with GF bread crumbs and flounder, only 1 coating. Still super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful--the taste is so delicious. Follow the directions to the word--don't add or change anything. Best-ever fried fish, and so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Had some catfish fillets and used this recipe. In order to double-coat the fillets after dredging in flour first, I had to double both the egg mixture and the coating (I used bread crumbs since I had no potato flakes). Personally, I prefer a little less mustard flavor and will probably try cutting the amount of mustard in half next time I make it. This is another great option for how to fix fish. Fried it 5 minutes per side and it was golden brown and crispy on the outside, flaky and tender inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I dredged in flour first and added a small amount of garlic powder to the egg mixture, but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out great. Even my picky ones liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was real good! And I don't like fish, I will add some garlic next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Excellent recipe, everyone loved it. Mixed some bread crumbs with the potatoe flakes. Used the butter/oil mixture to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Waterdown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
My 3 year old ate it, so . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I would rate this somewhere between a 4-5. I really liked the way the coating taste as it seemed less heavy than egg and flour batters. I had 1 lb of wild haddock and I used the full amount of liquid, but cut the mashed potato flakes in half. Both were the perfect amount. For the mustard I used dijon. I couldn't really taste it and may try another mustard next time. I might also try adding seasoning to the fish before adding the egg and potato flakes. Make sure to use a good brand of potato flakes that have more weight and texture to them. It is necessary for them to get nice and crispy. I also had to add another about 1 Tblsp of vegetable oil after flipping. The pan looked completely dry after I turned over the fish. Next time, I will also cook the 1 lb of fish in 2 batches. Over-crowding caused a little breakage. I will make this again. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
After adding some garlic powder and onion powder, this recipe was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States