Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Yes I have tried this Recipe, you would think that using mustard that it would overwhelm the flavor of the fish. Not at all, surprisingly the potato flakes and all of ingredients caught me off guard, it was a great combination that was very tasty. I enjoyed this breading and would recommend it to all, if you need more seasonings, go by your taste. Rev. Thomas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rev. Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Yum. I coated fish in mixture of flower salt, pepper & some dried tarragon. Then dipped in egg mixture, but I used Dijon instead of yellow mustard. Then dredged in panko breadcrumbs with more tarragon. Squeezed lemon juice on top after frying, et voila. So delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was amazing. Much better than breading. Very light and crispy. The only thing I did different was use flounder instead of sole, and added a bunch of dried herbs to the potato flakes. I will definitely make this again. Be sure to only do 1-2 minutes for thin fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Everyone loved it! I did coat in flour first as suggested in other reviews, as well as added some garlic. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Nice and easy, but needed more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I love this recipe! Who would've known that a little mustard would make such a big difference? After reading the reviews, I did not use potato flakes--instead I stuck with my usual... 1/2 c. all-purpose flour and 3/4 c. cornmeal seasoned with salt and pepper. The result was great tasting crispy fish filets! I've used cod, haddock and tilpia with this recipe and they all turned out good. I've used dijon mustard also... still good, perhaps better depending on your taste. Even my picky 7-year old who typically doesn't eat fish likes this recipe! Enough said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Seriously crunchy fried fish - love it! I've made this twice now with the addition of a flour dusting before frying. The mustard takes fish to a whole new level of yumminess that will please both adults AND kids. A major plus is that by using GF flour to dust the fish, this recipe is GLUTEN FREE! I've made it with tilapia and grouper, both worked well. The first time, I prepped all the fish, then put them into the pan. The second time, I had more fish, so dropped each one into the pan as soon as it was coated. That was a mistake. The coating came off a few of the fillets and what remained was little gummy where it met the fish. So for fish perfection, dust all the fillets in flour, then run them all through the first dip/potato dredge, then all of them through the second dip/dredge, then finally fry them up, in batches, if needed. The short resting times between the steps made a REAL difference in finished quality. I let the fish rest on a wire rack, which helps a lot, too. The top of a broiler pan would work as well. The second time I made them I added cajun spice from the recipe for Maple Cajun Mahi Mahi and loved that, too. I put the spices in the mustard/egg dip. Terrific! This is a perfect base recipe for fried fish. The bottom line - the potato flakes, mustard, and rest between steps results in perfect fish! **UPDATE** Made tonight with GF bread crumbs and flounder, only 1 coating. Still super crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful--the taste is so delicious. Follow the directions to the word--don't add or change anything. Best-ever fried fish, and so very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fairborn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Had some catfish fillets and used this recipe. In order to double-coat the fillets after dredging in flour first, I had to double both the egg mixture and the coating (I used bread crumbs since I had no potato flakes). Personally, I prefer a little less mustard flavor and will probably try cutting the amount of mustard in half next time I make it. This is another great option for how to fix fish. Fried it 5 minutes per side and it was golden brown and crispy on the outside, flaky and tender inside. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I dredged in flour first and added a small amount of garlic powder to the egg mixture, but otherwise followed the recipe. It turned out great. Even my picky ones liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States