Crispy Fish Fillets Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made this a couple of times now with different fish and the whole family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My kids loved it! Next time I'll add the parm and it should be perfect. I wasn't sure if I could use frozen sole, but it came out perfectly. I just ran it under warm water for a few seconds before dredging it in flour. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I have thirteen year old triplets. One loved it, one was "okay" with it, and the other didn't like it. Fish is an aquired taste. I do not like "fishy" fish, but I loved this. I dredged in flour, then egg, then flour again before dredging in the flakes, and be generous with the flakes. I used talipia - the kind that comes in a frozen bag at Target - just let it lay out on the counter for about 30 min. before preparing. I also used Canola oil, and fried in small batches - 3 to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve Cottom
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
A favourite. for those that are substituting breadcrumbs or cornmeal , you're missing the delicate flavours of this coating for a delicately flavoured fish. Adding flour just would make it a pastey mess of a roadside fish and chip shop. I will admit I did make changes but minor. I reduced the oil to 1 tbsp and added 1 tbsp of clarified butter to my non stick skillet. I also added freshly ground black pepper with some dried dill and dried parsley to the potato flakes. I tried double dipping and single dipping and we preferred the single dip. Served with a brown rice pilaf , steamed asparagus and holland side sauce this was perfect. The mustard was understated and complemented. ( and I don't like yellow mustard on my sandwiches). I rarely have instant potato flakes on hand, except for camping. (Used last summers leftovers for this) would add this to a gourmet wilderness canoe trip and sacrifice my breakfast egg with my instant potatoes and packets of fast food mustard to enjoy a fishfry at sunset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve Cottom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I've made this twice. Once baked and once fried. It definitely gets crisper when you fry. It's a good recipe for coating *only if* you add a lot more seasonings and dredge the fish in flour or cornmeal before the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
We really liked this. The batter came out a little eggy like a pancake almost. Although they were crispy I missed the flaky crunch like you get with panko. Still very tasty though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
The Wife said it was the best .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Follette, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Avon Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Just tried this recipe Today and it is awesome.. hands down the best fried fish recipie ever.. i used flounder instead of sole, mixed garlic pepper and parsley in with the egg mixture, and bread crumbs with the potato flakes (sour cream and chive flavored flakes).. i also coated the fish in flour before dipping it in the egg mixture..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
The potato crust on the fish really sets it off. Makes for a nice deep golden brown crust. Even my husband who generally doesn't like fish said this was a good recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lime Springs, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Terrific recipe, easy and very tasty. Definately dredge the fish in flour first. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nadine.k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Beer Batter Fish Made Great

See how to make crisp and spicy beer-battered fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States