Crispy Eggplant with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I really liked this. I'm a giant fan of eggplant parmesan, and this is a healthy alternative. I will admit that I used some sauce that my mom made, and she is a legit chef. But next time, without my mom's help, I will find a marinara recipe online. Just say no to Prego!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
This will become a staple at our house. I didn't have wheat germ so I used plain bread crumbs and seasoned with basil, parsley, oregano, garlic powder, onion powder, and red pepper flakes. My husband RAVED about it and my 3 year old even ate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Delicious and easy little baked eggplant recipe. Using the wheat germ and parmesan mix surprisingly made for a wonderful and nutritious breadcrumb coating. I loved the way that the cayenne pepper brought warmness to the sauce. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Selected this recipe for a healthier way of oven baking the eggplant rather than frying it. Scaled up ingredients using 3 lbs. eggplant (3 medium) and doubling everything else related to preparing the eggplant. Added 2 tablespoons Italian seasoning to the 2 cups of Parmesan cheese/wheat germ breading. Lightly misted each breaded side with olive oil. Baked 13 minutes on one side, and flipped over for another 10 minutes. They were crispy, nicely browned on each side, and the cheese/wheat germ breading was tasty. Will use this oven method in future but may try other breading mixes simply for variety. Rather than top each eggplant slice with sauce and cheese, made a 9" x 13" casserole similar to “Eggplant Parmesan with Fresh Basil and Smoked Mozzarella” on this site. This produced the best of both recipes with crispy, tasty, and not greasy eggplant slices in a very yummy tomato basil sauce topped with smoky cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Absolutely amazing. I tried topping each piece with different cheeses. Pick one you really like, you cant go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amberkirky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I can't review the exact recipe as listed, but I will say that it helped me figure out what to do with the eggplant I got in a CSA basket one week. I am a "novice" cook and this was really easy. I followed all the directions but swapped out the wheat germ for bread crumbs, the eggs and milk for plain greek yogurt, the mozzarella for fresh grated cheddar, and cut the cayenne pepper in half. Although altered from the original, I thought they were great!! Reminded me of mini eggplant pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I followed the recipe except used two of the other comments...Used bread crumbs instead of wheat germ and turned the baked eggplant after five minutes and made individual casseroles for the family instead of one big casserole...actually probably put in too much cayenne pepper and cut it with just a touch of sugar...Fabulous and healthy!! Major fav at my house..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evonnecpa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This was a great recipe and so easy to make! (My first experience with egg plant) I skipped the salting step and used my homemade spaghetti sauce which is spicy and it was a great mix. My husband loved it and asked me to make it again:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
This was really good, and very crispy. My wheat germ had gone bad so I used panko crumbs, but I can't wait to try it per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We really liked this one-- very tasty. I didn't have wheat germ, so I subbed bread crumbs. thanks for the healthy version of a normally greasy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States