Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Great recipe. Family didn't like it but it was a very good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This was really good. I have made similar salads on here that call for a lot of water, vinegar, and sugar. I like the scaled down amounts in this. I did 1/2 recipe to try it out. I used white vinegar for the cider, olive oil, and Truvia for the splenda. I left out the black pepper, because I don't care for it. I subbed dried dill a pinch for the fresh dill and added just a little of the sliced red onion. I kept all of the dressing portions the same. Will definitely be a go to quick salad for during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
This was a different version from a family favorite. I used sugar and dried dill (didn't have any fresh on hand). Absolutely divine. Next time I will trying to add sweet baby bells. Amazingly and simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Excellent and refreshing. Used several tablespoons of fresh chopped dill because we love it and only used a packet of Splenda instead of a tspn. Sweet enough to balance the cider vinegar. Nice side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I threw this together in a flash this morning to send to work with Hubs for lunch with his sandwich. I wanted something a little more interesting than simply cucumber spears (not that there's anything wrong with that either). We don't care for "sweet" in salads, so I left out the Splenda. I did substitute lemon juice for the vinegar and olive oil for vegetable oil in a ratio of 3:1 oil to vinegar. I cut my unpeeled English cucumber in small chunks rather than slices, since that would be easier to eat (and help prevent Hubs from slurping drippy cucumber slices on his tie, which he's sometimes prone to do). I used grape tomatoes, which I like for salads as they don't get all mushy as the salad sits. I also added a good amount of fresh dill. I would have liked to have added some chunks of avocado but I knew Hubs wouldn't appreciate that. Since he's off to a couple of meetings this afternoon, I skipped the onion, which he DID appreciate...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Yum! I used english cucumbers Android didn't peel them. It ended up a very pretty salad that is refreshing and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWNZKITKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Light and tasty salad that's a great side dish! I used a little more dill and olive oil instead of veg. oil. You can easily adjust this vinaigrette to your tastes. I sliced the cucumber very thin and used half the amount of red onion and sliced that thin as well. I let it set for an hour before serving to let the flavors blend together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Nice Flavors. It was the perfect combination of vinegar and sugar. I used all fresh ingredients from the garden. It was a good way to use up some home grown produce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
This is a quick, simple, refreshing summer salad. I used halved cherry tomatoes as that's all I had on hand. This is a great way to use all those cucumbers and tomatoes from the garden. I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Ukrainian Salat Vinaigrette (Beet Salad)

Watch how to make this traditional Ukrainian beet salad.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States