Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added cubed mozzarella cheese just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I used WAY more dill than called for; probably a tablespoon, maybe more, but then I really like fresh dill. Also I added a couple cloves of pressed garlic. Instead of sugar, I used Splenda and olive oil instead of plain old vegetable oil. I thought the onion was just right. A nice, refreshing salad. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is so good! I didn't give it five stars because I think the onion is a bit overpowering, so I cut back on that. Otherwise, it's delicious. I always get a lot of compliments on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
instead of black pepper in these kinds of salads, i always use WHITE pepper. gives it a different taste and really appealing! i omited the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was easy, light, summery and healthy! Similar to a side dish mom made when I was a kid -- just reminds me of garden goodies. Proves you don't need a dozen ingredients and exotic foods to create a flavorful, healthful dish. Simple dishes have their place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Wow. Very, very good. I used EVOO and sprinkled fresh lemon juice over the salad. I ended up taking about a half cup of this salad and tossing it with a bit of grilled BLSL chicken breasts and wrapping it up in bibb lettuce. Filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
My mom who is from Germany has made this salad all my life. She slices the cucumber very thin then puts them in a colander with salt to drain for a while this draws some of the bitter taste away. The only other thing she does different is adding just a little sugar to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I drained it before serving, also. One guest raved about it, and the rest were complimentary. I cut back on the red onion because the one I bought was very strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
A good, noncreamy sald to add to a meal. Someone ate some of the cucumber that I planned to use, so I added red and green pepper to make up the difference. This makes a lot of dressing for the amount of salad, so you may want to drain it before serving. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Absolutely fabulous! It is a little watery at the bottom, but that is all the flavor. Made it exactly as written except for olive oil instead. So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States