Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Actually I'd give this a 4.5. I made it for my husband's family reunion and it was a big hit. I followed suggestions for using English cucumbers, scraping out the seeds and cutting into chunks. I also cut the tomatoes into chunks rather than leaving in wedges. I substituted red wine vinegar and olive oil. The fresh dill makes it so good. I've already made it a second time and several people asked me for the recipe. This will be part of my summer salad repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Four stars as is, but I'm a fiend for avocado, so add in one of those and I'd switch it to five stars. Easy to make and great for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
This recipe was fantastic! I've made a few minor changes since making it the first time. I omit the sugar and vinegar (saves on calories & sugar intake). Cut the oil in half (use olive instead of vegetable) and use fresh squeezed lemon (like one reviewer suggested). Also, I found it's easier to use cherry tomatoes instead of slicing large ones. Very light and refreshing... thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
What a great recipe! I had tomatoes and cucumbers all over my kitchen counter when I found this on allrecipes. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent recipe. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and added cubed mozzarella cheese just before serving. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEEW17

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friona, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
I used WAY more dill than called for; probably a tablespoon, maybe more, but then I really like fresh dill. Also I added a couple cloves of pressed garlic. Instead of sugar, I used Splenda and olive oil instead of plain old vegetable oil. I thought the onion was just right. A nice, refreshing salad. Thanks, Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is so good! I didn't give it five stars because I think the onion is a bit overpowering, so I cut back on that. Otherwise, it's delicious. I always get a lot of compliments on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
instead of black pepper in these kinds of salads, i always use WHITE pepper. gives it a different taste and really appealing! i omited the sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kissthecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was easy, light, summery and healthy! Similar to a side dish mom made when I was a kid -- just reminds me of garden goodies. Proves you don't need a dozen ingredients and exotic foods to create a flavorful, healthful dish. Simple dishes have their place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Wow. Very, very good. I used EVOO and sprinkled fresh lemon juice over the salad. I ended up taking about a half cup of this salad and tossing it with a bit of grilled BLSL chicken breasts and wrapping it up in bibb lettuce. Filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Ideal pairing of salmon with butter sauce, dill and lemon.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States