Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This was really just average. I have had better tomato/cucumber salads before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Very refreshing and very good! I used a little more sugar, a little more dill and olive oil instead of veg. oil. You can easily adjust this vinaigrette to your tastes. I used one cucumber that I sliced very thin and next time I'd use an English cucumber. I used half the amount of red onion and sliced that thin as well. I let it set for an hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
This is good but nothing extraordinary. I used half balsamic and half red wine vinegar, and olive oil instead of vegetable. Its a refreshing low calorie healthy snack or side dish that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is my favorite salad. I make it almost every day in the summer. However,I never use sugar for it and I always add feta cheese on top when serving. For best results use sweet onion and seedless cucumbers. Be careful with the amount of vinegar you use; general rule is that a salad with tomatoes does not need a lot of vinegar. If you want quick, light meal for the summer add chopped ham, cubed cheese(your choice) mushrooms from a jar, and feta of course. Serve with a loaf of bread and voila-you have a healthy lunch, or dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
This is great. I have made it with cider vinegar and red wine vinegar, and I like the red wine vinegar much better because it has a bit more bite to it. I use olive oil instead of vegetable, and agree with marinating the cucumber and onion overnight before adding tomato. But any leftovers are fine in the fridge and seem to get better for a few days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Awesome recipe - perfect! Use crisp, fresh cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUVRABITS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vernon, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
this recipe needs to be altered to read, chill overnight. i tried it after 2-3 hours, still bitter. yet, the next day delish... and still delish the day after. i primarily make this for myself to snack on, or be a small lunch. with a one and a half year old to run around after, it's tasty and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
A nice simple salad to use produce from the garden on a summer evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I added extra dill and yellow bell peppers. Mmmm. This recipe was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
LOVED IT! I have made a similar recipe before with just the cucumbers and with white onions. But I love that this one has tomatoes and red onion. It was a nice twist and more healthy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States