Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I love this recipe.... it's so light, tasty and just down right delicious. I have made this quite a few times for family get-togethers this summer and everyone really loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Wonderful. Not to tangy or sweet. I used half the amount of dried dill and used yellow and red cherry tomatoes. I also threw in some feta cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Even all the kids loved this!!! I didn't have red onion, so substituted 1/4 cup heirloom white onion. Also used brown sugar rather than white, and one zucchini for one of the cucumbers. Didn't have fresh dill, so sprinkled with dried dill. DELICIOUS only 10 minutes after making! Imagine that if it had lasted a day it would have tasted even better tomorrow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I thought it had a good fresh and crisp flavor, my husband thought it was ok, however he is not a big fan of dill. I did make minor changes, I used olive oil and 1/2 of what the recipe called. Also I did not have cider vinegar so I substituted for 1/2 red wine vinegar and 1/2 white vinegar. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBECCAS5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Too tart and lacked flavor. I scaled recipe back to 3 servings, used fresh picked tomatoes and a large cucumber. Subbed vidalia onion for the red onion. Let marinate overnight but didn't help enhance the flavor. Think I would rather just slice the tomato and cucumber and serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I would give this a 4.5 if that was an option. It was really good, but not "knock-your-socks off" good. It was a super way to use my cucumbers and tomatoes from my garden though. I didn't use much onion as the red onion seemed very strong when I was cutting it. I also used 1/2 apple cider and 1/2 balsamic vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Good, but ordinary--nothing unique. I used olive oil rather than vegetable oil, and more dill than called for as well. I also added chunks of avocado for added interest. This is good for an idea when you're stumped for some kind of salad to make. Update, 2/09: This time I eliminated the sugar and the vinegar. Used olive oil and a good squeeze of fresh lemon juice instead. Now this I loved! Instead of tangy and sweet it was light and refreshing. A definite do-over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Really good with ingredients I have on hand. I like that the cukes don't need to be salted and drained first. That makes this quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This was pretty tasty. I used cucumbers and tomatoes from the farmer's market. Added some cubed mozzarella. It could use a little more kick...just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States