Crispy Chipotle Lime Tilapia with Cool Avocado Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was amazing! I added a little chili powder and some sauce from the peppers to the avocado sauce and used lime Tostitos which was recommended by other reviewers. Also, I didn't flip it half way through, I just cooked them for 30 minutes. Perfect! My husband said it was probably the best thing I have ever made! Will definitely be making it again, and again, and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Cates McCabe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Taste like a fish taco. I added a little of the chipotle mix to the avocado as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by haylstorm
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Soooo good! I put a bit less milk I like the avocado sauce a bit thicker, spicy but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was good, followed the directions exactly, next time will put the chips in a food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Absolutely delicious 5 star tilapia recipe! The only thing I did differently is fry my own tortillas chips and season my adobo mixture before brushing it on my tilapia. Dredging the tilapia in the chips before baking it gives it a nice crisp texture. You can find adobo sauce with peppers at your grocery (next to the canned chilies where the corn tortillas, refried beans, and taco shells are at.) It is like a bbq sauce with a smoky flavor. The avocado sauce really brings the flavors here together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I really wanted to like the flavor of this but it just did not seem to work for us. I followed the recipe exactly but I didn't think that the fish had enough flavor and the crushed tortilla chips were soggier than I wanted. I suppose I could have cooked it longer or broiled it a bit at the end but then the fish would have been way over-cooked. I did like the avocado spread a bit and may steal that for other uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Was really good. Not nearly as spicy as I thought it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Not sure if I messed this recipe up but I did not like the chips....very soggy. Also thought the avocado was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beckie
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I think I might be in the minority, but, we didn't care for this fish recipe. I crushed the chips and coated the tilapia. After cooking, the crust was chewy and not crunchy. For those of you that want to make it - I would recommend pulverizing the tortilla chips in a blender or food processor. That would probably prevent the "chewy" texture and enable the crust to get crunchy. I also found it very difficult to flip the fish half way. Tilapia is a very delicate fish and it is easy to break apart. The crust was also falling off in places. I had average size tilapia pieces and 25 - 30 minutes would have been way too long to cook the fish. The general rule for well done fish is 10 minutes baking time per inch of fish.. We only needed to cook about 15 minutes total. I did think the avocado sauce was good, but, it seemed like it was missing something. I think cilantro would have brightened up the sauce and gave it that taste I was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Has a nice kick to it, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falcon Heights, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Lemon Garlic Tilapia

See how to make a mild baked fish that’s quick, healthy, and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States