Crispy Chinese Noodles with Eggplant and Peanuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I cooked this for my family; it was a hit. There were three things I changed that made this dish better for my family. *I increased the sauce, the amount suggested wasn't enough. *I substituted fish sauce with soy sauce *Also the noodles are supposed to be pan seared on BOTH sides, I only did one side. The wheat nooldes do get nice and crispy with the weight of the dishes on top but two sides of crunch is too much. By frying only one side of the noodles, you have a nice soft side which is a good contrast with the crispy side. Thank you to Jen for a delicious unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZ5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This dish is absolutely delicious!! I wasn't sure when I saw the combination of ingredients but in my search for great tasting vegetarian recipes I gave it a shot and I am so glad I did! The end result is wonderful. I will say that it is not very kid friendly as 3 of my 4 children wouldn't touch it but my husband and I loved it so it will be a staple in my house from now on. Serving it with the crispy noodles on top makes for a nice presentation so it would be a really nice meal to make for company. Thank you for the excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I too LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
I don't know about this one. I do suggest taking the skin off the eggplant before cubing. I felt the red wine vinegar flavor sort of overpowered the whole dish. It is definitely an acquired taste. Boyfriend was less than enthused over this dish. I probably won't attempt this again, although it was not a difficult recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
eggplant_NO WAY!!! the noodle were soggy, did not like it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
At first, the flavors of this dish were delightful, but after 3-4 bites, I realized that the vegetable base needs something. Not sure what. This clearly was written as a vegetarian recipe but if I were to make it a second time (doubtful) I'd add sauteed chicken or pork to give more texture to the vegetables. I loved making the crispy noodles. Hadn't done that before. I learned a few things and am confident that next time I could improve on my technique. It was a fun recipe to try; it used up some Asian eggplants that are growing prolifically in my garden and it gave me an opportunity to try something new. Thanks for contributing it, Jen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Exeter, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I was really just looking for tips on how to cook noodles, I didn't try the rest of the recipe but the sauce looks quite similar to the standard Asian sweet stir fry. For my noodles I used soumen (japanese fettucine) because I had a lot, and I wanted a really thin crispy noodle like what you get at Chinese restaurants. I think they worked out really good but would have been better if they were more dried out. Kinda like old rice for fried rice. So I'm going to let my extra noodles sit in the frig and try it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
When I first read this recipe I was intrigued by the mixture of ingredients in the sauce. Too many strong flavors! Nothing really blended. You would get sherry in one bite, vinegar in the next, fish sauce in yet another. I make many Chinese dishes and this was easy but the measurements required too many utensils. Cups plus measuring spoons for almost each of the ingredients. Wierd. Once assembled the vegetables were soggy. I really don't have any suggestions to make this better. Pass on this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Based on the other reviews, I suspected I'd need more sauce & less red wine vinegar. Conveniently, I had no red wine vinegar, so I used cooking rice wine. I've found that when I cook eggplant, I need to cook it a lot longer than the recipe calls for and add a few cups of water along the way. I did that. I also added shrimp at the time of combining all the ingredients. It seemed to need something at the end, so I tossed in a healthy amount of extra sherry & soy sauce, to good effect. I did not use peanuts as they didn't seem a match. I am not a big noodle fan, but when I tasted it, I knew it needed crispy noodles, so I made them, using the mung bean noodles I had on hand. Next time, I'll use a little less ginger & some cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sesame Noodles

Learn how to make traditional cold sesame noodles in a tangy peanut sauce.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States