Crispy Cheese Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
These were a huge hit. I only seasoned the one side not to overdo the flavour and they were perfect. The pastry came in 2 so I used one for this and the other I sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar for dessert . The family loved both of them and they were so quick and easy to make and made me look like a genius. I served with turkey pot pie. It was a pastry overload meal but so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great & Easy! I halved the recipe since I only had one sheet of the puff pastry, and added in 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper for some kick. Instead of brushing the pastry with egg white, I brushed it with a whole egg mixed with a bit of water. I could see skipping the wash and having it turn out just as good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
awesome! if you use the egg white, make sure to grease your cookie sheets. I did everything the same but added a pinch of garlic salt and a teaspoon of chopped chives. When I pulled them from the oven, I brushed on some butter....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a fast easy recipe to make. The taste was good. The pepper added a little pep to the breadsticks. Some of the breadsticks that didn't get as much pepper were blander. Of course, my kids (8 and 6) needed sauce for dipping. I bought Pillsbury twisted breadsticks and added the seasoning to those-saved time rolling out dough. I also read other reviews and saw some were having a problem with the sticking. I sprayed my pans with a little non-stick spray and it helped. The cheese still stuck a little, but non of my breadsticks were destroyed or unservable. Also because I used the Pillsbury dough it was hard to flip them and do the other side. For the first batch, I simply used the egg mixture on one side, sprinkled the cheese and twisted. Once they were on the pan I sprinkled some cheese on the parts that were bare. For the second batch I picked up the breadstick dipped it in the cheese and seasoning mix then twisted and put on the pan. Both ways worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are nice. I added 1/2 tsp. of ground thyme to the other spices. I found them to be a little bland. If I were to make them again, I think I'd keep all the cheese and seasonings on the inside and sprinkle the sheets with a good half-teaspoon of kosher salt before cutting and twisting. I'd also swab them with a little garlic butter before baking. And just a note: The egg wash is essential to "gluing" the cheese to the pastry; it won't interfere with your pastry "puffing," so I wouldn't advise omitting it or subbing butter. In fact, you cold use a whole egg instead of just the white and you'd get a nice, shiny, browned surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Getting ready to try this recipe. does anyone suggest some sort of dip or other 'accessory'?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great tasting and very easy! I used Greyeare cheese but will try the parm. next time. Chedder would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Don't bother with the egg wash, just very lightly spread some real butter on the dough, sprinkle with your seasonings and roll in lightly with a rolling pin then cut, twist, and bake. Also the egg wash could 'glue' the layers of pastry together and prevent the puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe is not only very easy but great tasting. So happens that this recipe is printed on the pakage side of Tenderflake Puff Pastry that I bought recently with a few changes. I had followed the recipe on the package which consists of Parmesan and Gruyere with fresh ground Pepper and a sprinkle of Italiano seasoning. This is sprinkled on only ONE side of the pastry then with a rolling pin lightly press the cheeses into the dough then twisted with the cheese side hidden inside and placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, baked at 375F for 10 min turned over with tongs then baked another 2 minutes. Remove and place on paper towels to absorb any grease. These don't stick to the pan as the cheese is on the inside. Instead of the Gruyere I used extra old, sharp, cheddar for that great taste! No need for salt or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These were fantastic, I used colby cheese because I didn't have parm. I used less pepper than what was called for, but think it would've been good with the full amount. I cut some of these in half for more of an 'appetizer' friendly twist:) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States