Crispy Cheese Twists Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
These were a huge hit. I only seasoned the one side not to overdo the flavour and they were perfect. The pastry came in 2 so I used one for this and the other I sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar for dessert . The family loved both of them and they were so quick and easy to make and made me look like a genius. I served with turkey pot pie. It was a pastry overload meal but so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Mcintyre Distefano

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
Great & Easy! I halved the recipe since I only had one sheet of the puff pastry, and added in 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper for some kick. Instead of brushing the pastry with egg white, I brushed it with a whole egg mixed with a bit of water. I could see skipping the wash and having it turn out just as good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
awesome! if you use the egg white, make sure to grease your cookie sheets. I did everything the same but added a pinch of garlic salt and a teaspoon of chopped chives. When I pulled them from the oven, I brushed on some butter....yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was a fast easy recipe to make. The taste was good. The pepper added a little pep to the breadsticks. Some of the breadsticks that didn't get as much pepper were blander. Of course, my kids (8 and 6) needed sauce for dipping. I bought Pillsbury twisted breadsticks and added the seasoning to those-saved time rolling out dough. I also read other reviews and saw some were having a problem with the sticking. I sprayed my pans with a little non-stick spray and it helped. The cheese still stuck a little, but non of my breadsticks were destroyed or unservable. Also because I used the Pillsbury dough it was hard to flip them and do the other side. For the first batch, I simply used the egg mixture on one side, sprinkled the cheese and twisted. Once they were on the pan I sprinkled some cheese on the parts that were bare. For the second batch I picked up the breadstick dipped it in the cheese and seasoning mix then twisted and put on the pan. Both ways worked fine for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are nice. I added 1/2 tsp. of ground thyme to the other spices. I found them to be a little bland. If I were to make them again, I think I'd keep all the cheese and seasonings on the inside and sprinkle the sheets with a good half-teaspoon of kosher salt before cutting and twisting. I'd also swab them with a little garlic butter before baking. And just a note: The egg wash is essential to "gluing" the cheese to the pastry; it won't interfere with your pastry "puffing," so I wouldn't advise omitting it or subbing butter. In fact, you cold use a whole egg instead of just the white and you'd get a nice, shiny, browned surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Getting ready to try this recipe. does anyone suggest some sort of dip or other 'accessory'?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Great tasting and very easy! I used Greyeare cheese but will try the parm. next time. Chedder would be good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Don't bother with the egg wash, just very lightly spread some real butter on the dough, sprinkle with your seasonings and roll in lightly with a rolling pin then cut, twist, and bake. Also the egg wash could 'glue' the layers of pastry together and prevent the puff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brewer, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This recipe is not only very easy but great tasting. So happens that this recipe is printed on the pakage side of Tenderflake Puff Pastry that I bought recently with a few changes. I had followed the recipe on the package which consists of Parmesan and Gruyere with fresh ground Pepper and a sprinkle of Italiano seasoning. This is sprinkled on only ONE side of the pastry then with a rolling pin lightly press the cheeses into the dough then twisted with the cheese side hidden inside and placed on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper, baked at 375F for 10 min turned over with tongs then baked another 2 minutes. Remove and place on paper towels to absorb any grease. These don't stick to the pan as the cheese is on the inside. Instead of the Gruyere I used extra old, sharp, cheddar for that great taste! No need for salt or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Passion4food
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
These were fantastic, I used colby cheese because I didn't have parm. I used less pepper than what was called for, but think it would've been good with the full amount. I cut some of these in half for more of an 'appetizer' friendly twist:) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Parmesan Cheese Twists

These cheesy Pepperidge Farm® Puff Pastry strips are so easy to make!

Brooklyn Mac & Cheese

This "ooey, gooey" super comforting Mac and Cheese recipe is so easy to make!

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States