Crispy Cereal Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Thanks for posting this. I think it is very much like the recipe on the Chex cereal boxes but I could not find the one I cut off the box and I was making it with Crispix cereal and it is not on that box. I always put in 2 cups of Honey Combs. Everyone loves the little bit of sweet mixed in. I usually double the spices and use a whole stick of margarine. I've also added Honey Nut Cheerios and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. My son told me to leave the Cinnamon cereal out from now on and he is the one who eats most of it. We all prefer it to the store brought brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was good, but as far as the season mix I couldn't tell the differnce from other party mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
This is a great snack and it freezes well too if you want to make a big batch. I din't change a thing except omit the bagel chips and used only cashews. My only question...isn't this the same recipe that is can be found on the chex cereal boxes during the holiday season? I checked my boxes and although the "recipe" for Chex Mix wasn't listed on the boxes I had purchased, I'm pretty sure it tastes the same as their recipe...therefore, I didn't find it all that "unique." Still, I personally like this over the store-bought/pre-mixed Chex Mix but I think the two recipes are one and the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Fabulous for on-hand munchies. I put Tony Cachiere's instead of seasoning salt to give it a little kick. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Its good. but we like a stronger flavor in our snack mix. Going to try doubling the seasoning ingredients and see if that suits our tastes more. It is yummy, the flavors used work well! Just not as potent as we personally like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This is almost identical to the traditional chex mix from the Chex cereal box. The only difference is the additional amount of garlic powder. If you like traditional chex mix with a touch more garlic, you'll enjoy this. We enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I am not sure what you mean by "other version"... But yes it is good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pickycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Rock, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
This is A GREAT recipe that kids love- Anna in VA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I doubt anyone out there makes this the same way. I always add Cheerios to mine, usually double the seasoning and add a little bit more butter, and leave out the nuts and sometimes the pretzels. I did try it this time with Honey Combs, fantastic! What a great idea! I melt the butter and mix the seasonings and pour over the cereal mix, it incorporates better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Good Taste. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States