Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I work in food service in a natural foods store, and the trick to getting tofu firm, not mushy, is baking it first. We do that for all tofu we use. You just cut it how you want to, spray a baking sheet with oil, and bake on 375 for about 15 minutes, more depending on how firm and crispy you want it. Anyway, I baked it, coated it in the egg and bbq sauce mixture, rolled in flour mix and fried. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
660 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is THE BBQ tofu recipe!!! I live in memphis and I swear it's better than any other BBQ anything out there. I did bake for 15 minutes before coating in egg/sauce and flour mix and frying. The tofu was very crispy at that point. I cooled pieces on paper towel to soak up some oil and then coated with Corky's BBQ sauce and placed on a well greased pan and put back in the oven for about 5 minutes. (I'm not sure about broiling) When they came out of the oven I thought they were ruined because they were no longer crispy but I'm telling you the texture is right on! All the consistency of chicken wing meat without big veins hanging out, chunks of cartilege and other assorted nasty things associated with actual meat. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for the first tofu recipe I actually like better than the real thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
The ingredients list flour/salt/pepper but the instructions never tell what to do with them, they are crucial to the crispiness. So after rolling in the egg white mixture roll in flour/salt/pepper mixture, then fry, will be crispy and absolutely delicious! My husband loved this and I didn't even do the last step adding more BBQ sauce, didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by megnrn
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
We loved this! But you do have to bake the tofu first as another reviewer suggested, otherwise your tofu will not be crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Great Recipe. I'm fairly new to cooking with tofu and have found getting it to be crispy has been one of the harder skills to learn. Coating the tofu with egg does the trick and, if desired, you can use breading and various other seasonings instead of flour and bbq sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very good and easy. Dredge the tofu first in the eggs, then in the flour/salt/pepper mix. Don't be afraid to brown this. The more it gets brown, the more it gets crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I really liked this recipe! I used teriyaki sauce instead of BBQ and it was also very good. I didn't freeze the tofu beforehand, but I don't need the "meaty" texture. It was very fast and easy to make with little clean-up required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
DELICIOUS! I've been trying to figure out how to make the tofu crispy, and this did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very good. I hadn't heard of freezing tofu for a meatier texture. I will use that trick with more recipes now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used this recipe as a base. Sliced, squeezed out excess water and baked the tofu 30 minutes at 350F (too long; maybe only 20 minutes max next time). I dipped my tofu slices in a soy milk/hot sauce mixture then double-dipped in a flour/cornstarch/S&P/Italian seasoning mix. Fried until golden. Completely skipped the BBQ sauce and didn't miss. it. These tasted like chicken nuggets, so even my toddler like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States