Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
I really liked this recipe! I used teriyaki sauce instead of BBQ and it was also very good. I didn't freeze the tofu beforehand, but I don't need the "meaty" texture. It was very fast and easy to make with little clean-up required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
DELICIOUS! I've been trying to figure out how to make the tofu crispy, and this did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very good. I hadn't heard of freezing tofu for a meatier texture. I will use that trick with more recipes now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
It was pretty good, I can't stand squishy tofu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jambalaya04

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
My husband and I liked this recipe very much. I had a cajun b-b-q sauce on hand which was good but I think next time I will use another sauce flavor as the cajun was a bit overpowering for me. I feel I will be able to give this recipe a 5-star rating after trying it again w/ another sauce. Also needed to use an extra egg white. I hadn't heard about freezing the tofu either. Wonderful trick. I am tempted to try the recipe without this step just to see how it compares. I am definitely going to be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesaning, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe, but I had a few troubles. Mine still didn't feel like they had much texture to them. I'm going to experiment with much thinner slices and maybe trying some crunchier toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
So, this is my first time cooking tofu and I thought this recipe was pretty easy but uhm.....yuck, but i think maybe i just dont like the tofu because i LOVE bbq sauce. I used to think bbq sauce could make anything taste good....i was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RasheedsWife

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
I see potential in this recipe, but my tofu didn't turn out crisp at all. It was mushy even after the freezing and frying of it first. I will have to tweak at it a bit to see if I can't get firmer tofu in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEEADRA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I must be missing something here (where does the cup of flour go?) but mine came out mushy. It was a messy/ time consuming process. So you guys that gave it 4+ stars...please lend me a hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My tofu turned out , not crispy, but more chewy. Tasted good, but not what I wanted. Can someone please figure out how to make Tofu CRISPY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States