Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I did not like this at all. It was the first time I had tofu. I decided tofu is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I like the concept of this recipe, and it was good. I will say though that the tofu soaks up so much of the oil, it was kind of disturbing! I think that the dredging and frying didn't really result in a texture that was any better than the freeze/thaw/press/bake method of preparing tofu. I'll stick with that next time-makes it healthier and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Baking the tofu is definitely the way to go (15-20 min. at 375 degrees)! After browning the tofu I didn't see the need to broil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Delicious! My 6 year old ate all of it! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley1518

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
meh. i made as directed and wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I froze, I baked it, I egged and floured it, I fried it, I marinated it, and I broiled it. And it was...terrible. The texture was okay and the flavor was, well, icky. Normally I think of tofu as having little flavor, but I got a strong tofu flavor with every bite. Those who are giving this positive reviews are either tried and true vegetarians or lacking taste buds. I rarely give bad reviews (I rarely find a recipe this bad that has so many good reviews), but this was really awful. This was a whole lot of work for really disappointing results. This will not be part of my 'meatless meals' rotation. Blech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent!! I don't eat eggs... so to replace the eggs I just used 1/4 cup of soy milk. It was great!!! My family was skeptical about tofu but they loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
My only complaint about this recipe is that I could not stop eating the slices lol. My daughter has never been a fan of Tofu but she ate her BBQ slices and said that she likes them. YEA!! When I prepared them I was a bit nervous at first because the slices had that soft texture after I broiled them. Then I thought of just baking them in the oven and then I started reading other reviews about baking them so I felt better about making the decision to bake them. They turned out crispy and great! Who would have thought that Tofu could taste so good. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggielifestyle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Not as good as I had hoped. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jetts83
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Very good but a bit time consuming. I possibly might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States