Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by AnnaB
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I did not like this recipe at all. Freezing tofu overnight made it very tough and tasteless. I will never mix egg white with tofu again because they just do not go well together. Barbeque sauce totally overpowered everything. I like tofu but this one i could not eat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I really liked this , one thing for me is I found it to be a bit dry but that's probably my fault since I didn't freeze it but I baked it twice! I personally would do this again with egg substitute and without baking it to firm up the tofu at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Omg this stuff was delicious !! I don't see why people disliked it . I pressed the tofu between two plates lines with paper towels to remove water then I baked for about 15-20 min ( freezing and thawing was a little too extra , didn't feel like doing all that..texture came out perfect regardless ) . Because I don't eat eggs I used ground flax seed instead. I added other seasons to the flour mixture such as garlic powder . I fried then broiled as directed. It was great . Definitely will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I followed the advice of many people and baked the tofu strips (at 425F for 20 minutes) before frying them. After the strips were fried and the sauce was applied I baked them again (again at 425F) rather than putting them under the broiler. I left them in the oven until the edges of the barbeque sauce blackened slightly. I am so happy with how they turned out! I will make these over and over again. I will also try other sauces such as sweet and sour, peanut, curry, and teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ductapelosergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pressing the tofu seems to be better than freezing. My boyfriend has never been a fan for vegetarian dishes but boy did he enjoy this one. Now we have Tofu Tuesday's every week and this recipe is always in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was a lot of work and just not worth the effort. My daughter and I really did not enjoy this. Oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This has become one of my favorite tofu recipes. My non-vegetarian boyfriend loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've never been a fan of bbq.........but this ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe! In addition to freezing over night, I placed the sliced tofu in the oven for 15 mins prior to frying. I replaced the egg whites with EnerG egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States