Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Amazing! Have made this many times. My whole family love it! I used the cubed tofu instead... The pieces come out more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H20donkey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I have tried this recipe multiple times now, and each time I end up doing it slightly differently, bake a little longer or shorter, forget that I put something in the fry pan and almost burn but, but it doesn't matter! Every single time it is DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
So do I freeze and bake?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This turned out beautifully! I don't like BBQ sauce/flavor, so I mixed sriracha sauce and another hot sauce into the egg white instead. I didn't do the second coating/marinade because I was worried they'd turn out too mushy. I broiled the toasty suckers dry, flipped once, and served with more hot sauce and ranch for dipping. They were chewy and dense - much more like real chicken I think the freezing did the trick - although, I just friar them quickly on a cookie sheet for an hour because I didn't have time. And very crunchy (I also added a tablespoon of corn starch to the flour mixture.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
AWESOME!! This was my first time cooking with tofu. As per previous reviews, I seasoned the tofu with garlic and onion powder as well as salt and pepper and baked for 15 mins at 375 degrees. I then dredged the tofu in the egg mixture, almond flour, egg mixture, and Panko bread crumbs and fried in olive oil. SO CRISPY!! Did not broil. Used bbq sauce for dipping. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I'm not a vegetarian (my daughters are), and I liked this a lot. My daughters really liked it. Like some others, I baked the tofu first, then dipped in egg and dredged in flour before frying it. I did not broil it afterward, and it was still perfect. One thing... I should have read a little more carefully about heating the olive oil over *medium* heat, because olive oil has a low smoking point and it can overheat easily. If you want to cook over a hotter fire to really assure a crispy crust, then use vegetable oil, but if you prefer olive oil take serious note of that medium heat! Very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AnnaB
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
I did not like this recipe at all. Freezing tofu overnight made it very tough and tasteless. I will never mix egg white with tofu again because they just do not go well together. Barbeque sauce totally overpowered everything. I like tofu but this one i could not eat at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I really liked this , one thing for me is I found it to be a bit dry but that's probably my fault since I didn't freeze it but I baked it twice! I personally would do this again with egg substitute and without baking it to firm up the tofu at the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SSSERICA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Omg this stuff was delicious !! I don't see why people disliked it . I pressed the tofu between two plates lines with paper towels to remove water then I baked for about 15-20 min ( freezing and thawing was a little too extra , didn't feel like doing all that..texture came out perfect regardless ) . Because I don't eat eggs I used ground flax seed instead. I added other seasons to the flour mixture such as garlic powder . I fried then broiled as directed. It was great . Definitely will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States