Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Very good. I hadn't heard of freezing tofu for a meatier texture. I will use that trick with more recipes now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahbelum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
The ingredients list flour/salt/pepper but the instructions never tell what to do with them, they are crucial to the crispiness. So after rolling in the egg white mixture roll in flour/salt/pepper mixture, then fry, will be crispy and absolutely delicious! My husband loved this and I didn't even do the last step adding more BBQ sauce, didn't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
I work in food service in a natural foods store, and the trick to getting tofu firm, not mushy, is baking it first. We do that for all tofu we use. You just cut it how you want to, spray a baking sheet with oil, and bake on 375 for about 15 minutes, more depending on how firm and crispy you want it. Anyway, I baked it, coated it in the egg and bbq sauce mixture, rolled in flour mix and fried. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
646 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is THE BBQ tofu recipe!!! I live in memphis and I swear it's better than any other BBQ anything out there. I did bake for 15 minutes before coating in egg/sauce and flour mix and frying. The tofu was very crispy at that point. I cooled pieces on paper towel to soak up some oil and then coated with Corky's BBQ sauce and placed on a well greased pan and put back in the oven for about 5 minutes. (I'm not sure about broiling) When they came out of the oven I thought they were ruined because they were no longer crispy but I'm telling you the texture is right on! All the consistency of chicken wing meat without big veins hanging out, chunks of cartilege and other assorted nasty things associated with actual meat. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart for the first tofu recipe I actually like better than the real thing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwedePotato
Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
DELICIOUS! I've been trying to figure out how to make the tofu crispy, and this did the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I'm so making this again, it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Very good and easy. Dredge the tofu first in the eggs, then in the flour/salt/pepper mix. Don't be afraid to brown this. The more it gets brown, the more it gets crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Just made this for dinner. I bought the tofu today so I didn't have time to freeze it so I listened to the other reviewer and tried baking it for 15 mins first and then fried them. They were pretty yummy alone but even better with the extra bbq dipping sauce. I eat it all and now and stuffed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Schweinfurt, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
THIS IS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! I followed the suggestion of baking at 375 for 15 mins from an earlier post before the egg mixture. I could eat a bowlful of this, and nothing else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These were awesome! I followed the advise to bake them first but I don't know how they would turn out without it--probably would be fine. I did half without baking the last step. They were both great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States