Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Since I'm vegan I used the ener-G egg replacer instead of an egg white, and since there was no black pepper in the house I used some red pepper and barbecue seasoning. Also, I didn't follow the directions exactly. When under the broiler I added more barbecue sauce on each side. Anyway, when I first made it and put it under the broiler, the sauce burned on each side and I thought I had done something wrong, but it turned out alright. My grandparents LOVED them. My carnivorous grandpa ate more than me and my vegan grandma and he had plenty of barbecued lamb, ribs, and chicken at his disposal. Other than the overnight freezing, this dish is quick and quite easy to make, and tasty to boot. :) I have another block of tofu in the freezer right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Umexchan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
waaaay too much work for how it turned out. followed recipe exactly. 3 Tbsp oil - used way more or else they were going to burn/didn't state how big to slice them so i had to guess. there's gotta be a better way to do this! boring bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
my husband loved and raved about this. It's easy! However, I felt the tofu needed something more. Maybe a little marinade. I will make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tooncecat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
omg. this was awesome. i had a package of tofu in the freezer already, so i drained and pressed the water out, then sliced into strips. like another reviewer suggested, i baked the strips for about 15 minutes on each side, then followed the recipe for dredging and frying them. i got lazy at the end and just ate the fried strips on a bun with some more barbeque sauce and it was heavennn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Although this is not a quick weeknight meal, my family loved this! My kids were fighting over the last couple of pieces! I did what everyone else did with baking the tofu first, and then followed the rest of the recipe. I was always afraid to try to make tofu at home, but this worked wonderfully. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I am a beginner cook, and this was really easy to make. The tofu really takes on the texture of real meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrawfordMom06

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My husband and I loved this! We baked the tofu before anything - thanks to the previous reviewer who suggested that. It turned out great. Broiling it gave it a grill-like taste and consistency. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
My family loved this. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I had never tried tofu before, but this sounded interesting. My husband & I really liked it! The only thing I noticed was I needed 2 egg whites and could have probably used only half the flour, the salt and pepper were lost in the extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
Very good! I followed others suggestions and baked for 20 min. at 375. I didn't freeze it. Broiled them on low for 5 min on each side and they turned out nice and crispy. Whole family liked them, even the kids. Might try again with buffalo wing sauce. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States