Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I actually just made this an hour or two ago and it was FAB!I screwed up and got the extra firm organic sprouted tofu twin pack of 8 ounce tofu so I couldn't make slices so I made strips! I did like the other reviewers said and placed a block in between two paper towels and weighed it down with a glass pot. Then, I left to go back to Trader Joe's to get some yummy all natural barbecue sauce. When I came back the towels were literally drenched! I don't know how all that water hides in there. I cut my strips and put some foiled on a cookie sheet and baked for 15 mins. Took them out dipped in the egg mixture and the flour and placed in the pan. Medium low is best. Let them brown, added barbecue sauce on them after they drained on paper towels and placed them back in the for five and only five minutes because at this point I was dying to try them! I'm certainly glad I did. Next time I will get the extra firm block to try these on a sandwich. I paired my strips with baby spinach and a dollop of roasted garlic hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Wow, what a great recipe! The freezing and pre-baking techniques are sheer genius and help push me one step closer to meat free living. This method of cooking tofu also allows for variance, I may try satay or curry, or experiment with various other bbq sauces for change. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 88bgt88
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
yummy new way to eat tofu! I sprinkled some sweet paprika very lighlty on them before puttin on bbq
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parksley, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I did not like this at all. It was the first time I had tofu. I decided tofu is not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I like the concept of this recipe, and it was good. I will say though that the tofu soaks up so much of the oil, it was kind of disturbing! I think that the dredging and frying didn't really result in a texture that was any better than the freeze/thaw/press/bake method of preparing tofu. I'll stick with that next time-makes it healthier and just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Baking the tofu is definitely the way to go (15-20 min. at 375 degrees)! After browning the tofu I didn't see the need to broil it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
Delicious! My 6 year old ate all of it! Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley1518

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
meh. i made as directed and wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Adame
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I froze, I baked it, I egged and floured it, I fried it, I marinated it, and I broiled it. And it was...terrible. The texture was okay and the flavor was, well, icky. Normally I think of tofu as having little flavor, but I got a strong tofu flavor with every bite. Those who are giving this positive reviews are either tried and true vegetarians or lacking taste buds. I rarely give bad reviews (I rarely find a recipe this bad that has so many good reviews), but this was really awful. This was a whole lot of work for really disappointing results. This will not be part of my 'meatless meals' rotation. Blech.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Realmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Excellent!! I don't eat eggs... so to replace the eggs I just used 1/4 cup of soy milk. It was great!!! My family was skeptical about tofu but they loved this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States