Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is my first attempt at making tofu and eating it. It was great...on the outside. But for some reason the inside was really bland. Does anyone know what I can do to make the inside just as awesome as the outside? Maybe a marinade? Any ideas would be awesome. Thanks. Also my boyfriend and I really enjoyed this and are happy that our first tofu experience was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This recipe is ridiculous! Ive always loved bbq sauce, but being a vegetarian has really limited what I can do with it, but this recipe has completely changed that! I loved it so much, after the first time I tried it, I made it three days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELISSABEAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
They turned out delicious! My non-vegetarian family loved them too! I also recommend baking the tofu for 15 minutes to make the consistency even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. I'm not vegetarian but I cook with tofu sometimes because I like it. This recipe was a little tedious especially trying to dip slimy tofu into slimy egg without crushing the tofu. It was a delicate process and took me longer than I expected it would. I baked the tofu a little first to firm it up, breaded it, baked it a little more so the flour wouldn't come off when I added the bbq sauce, then baked it with the sauce until the sauce was caramelized into the tofu. The texture was pretty good once they were done. To me, as far as flavor goes, the tofu didn't seem to go well with the bbq sauce. Because of the trouble I probably won't cook it again, but it wasn't a total bust since my kids did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Very tasty! I followed another poster's advice and baked the tofu before the egg dip and it was a great texture. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
not great, not bad... bbq sauce tastes good in general, so it was okay, but i've had better... maybe as a sandwich it would have more depth to the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PISCHINA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
OMG. I think the Gods are at Mt. Olympus eating Crispy BBQ Tofu, not ambrosia. This was SOOOO GOOOD. I wish I could have this for dinner every day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Used this recipe as a base. Sliced, squeezed out excess water and baked the tofu 30 minutes at 350F (too long; maybe only 20 minutes max next time). I dipped my tofu slices in a soy milk/hot sauce mixture then double-dipped in a flour/cornstarch/S&P/Italian seasoning mix. Fried until golden. Completely skipped the BBQ sauce and didn't miss. it. These tasted like chicken nuggets, so even my toddler like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Photo by Innie
Reviewed: May 27, 2011
This will be bland without the BBQ sauce! I didn't have enough sauce so here's what I did: I suggest sprinkling salt and pepper before baking it for 15-20 in the oven. I omitted the BBQ sauce the second time I made it because it was too subtle. I dipped the tofu in egg white then dipped it in a mixture of breadcrumbs and shredded parmesan cheese. I then pan-fried it and only flipped it after the under side has been browned. Enjoy and goodluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States