Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These were kind of a lot of work to produce something that I didn't feel was that much better than if you were to just marinate in bbq sauce and broil. They were a hit at my party though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very very good. Make sure to freeze, thaw, refreeze, thaw again to give it a meatier texture...so yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I haven't ever managed to make tofu not look like scrambled eggs before now! Baking the tofu rectangles at 375 degrees F for 15 minutes before you dip them in the egg mixture most definitely helped the tofu have a crispier texture. Served the barbequed slices in a tortilla with fresh red bell pepper and mixed greens and a little bit of sharp cheddar. Everyone enjoyed even the meat eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
After reading the reviews I was really excited by this, but I ended up disappointed. It wasn't bad by any means, but it wasn't anything to get excited about either. I think I'll try it again but marinate the tofu overnight, and I think I might try grilling it. As it was it tasted like tofu with BBQ sauce on it. Not a bad thing, but not something that's going to absolve my meat cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
Do freeze the tofu as instructed; it really makes the texture great. This is an easy recipe that makes tofu a delicious main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I did not have time to freeze tofu but I did cook it for 15 min at 375 beforehand. Excellent! Husband is not vegetarian and he ate most of it... Def. Making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri1104

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I'm new to tofu and still am up in the air about it. This was a nice recipe, but even after all the draining, smushing, frying, and broiling, only the corners of these were "crispy." It was very time consuming and I didn't feel like there was much to show for it after. The taste really just depends on your choice of bbq sauce, so that wasn't an issue, but we were trying these mostly for the promised crispy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebby713

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I tried Amys method. Baked it for about 30 minutes but it fell apart. But it tasted real good nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is my first attempt at making tofu and eating it. It was great...on the outside. But for some reason the inside was really bland. Does anyone know what I can do to make the inside just as awesome as the outside? Maybe a marinade? Any ideas would be awesome. Thanks. Also my boyfriend and I really enjoyed this and are happy that our first tofu experience was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States