Crispy Barbequed Tofu Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Omg this stuff was delicious !! I don't see why people disliked it . I pressed the tofu between two plates lines with paper towels to remove water then I baked for about 15-20 min ( freezing and thawing was a little too extra , didn't feel like doing all that..texture came out perfect regardless ) . Because I don't eat eggs I used ground flax seed instead. I added other seasons to the flour mixture such as garlic powder . I fried then broiled as directed. It was great . Definitely will cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
I followed the advice of many people and baked the tofu strips (at 425F for 20 minutes) before frying them. After the strips were fried and the sauce was applied I baked them again (again at 425F) rather than putting them under the broiler. I left them in the oven until the edges of the barbeque sauce blackened slightly. I am so happy with how they turned out! I will make these over and over again. I will also try other sauces such as sweet and sour, peanut, curry, and teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ductapelosergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Pressing the tofu seems to be better than freezing. My boyfriend has never been a fan for vegetarian dishes but boy did he enjoy this one. Now we have Tofu Tuesday's every week and this recipe is always in rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This recipe was a lot of work and just not worth the effort. My daughter and I really did not enjoy this. Oh well....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This has become one of my favorite tofu recipes. My non-vegetarian boyfriend loves it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I've never been a fan of bbq.........but this ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Great recipe! In addition to freezing over night, I placed the sliced tofu in the oven for 15 mins prior to frying. I replaced the egg whites with EnerG egg replacer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
Wanted to love it but was not a fan :( i really think tofu needs to be marinated before cooking to give it some flavor. this was just bbq cover tofu to me. texture after freezing, frying and broiling was nice but next time I will maybe marinate the strips in bbq then freeze and follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
These were kind of a lot of work to produce something that I didn't feel was that much better than if you were to just marinate in bbq sauce and broil. They were a hit at my party though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Very very good. Make sure to freeze, thaw, refreeze, thaw again to give it a meatier texture...so yumm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarazion

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Garden City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Crispy Edamame

See how to make an easy, delicious baked snack that’s also healthy!

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States