Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! Very crunchy and flavorful. They were a bit greasy though, so I'll cut down on the oil next time or not use it at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My boyfriend and his children love to make french toast every Sunday, so this was such a brilliant twist to our humdrum french toast...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was so simple and really delicious! I used my homemade french bread,and I added some cinnamon to the eggs also. I love the crunch that the panko gives to this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used Captain Crunch that was crunched up instead of the Panko Bread Crumbs because that is what I had on hand. Instead of using the butter and oil, I used cooking spray. I used 1 1/2 eggs that were egg whites and this turned out just fine. My cholesterol is a bit high so I felt like this was a needed adjustment. I reduced the milk down to 3/4 C. as well. We're only a family of three and just need 4 slices instead of 8 slices. I also used Lactaid milk since my son is lactose intolerant and this turned out beautifully! I did add a little pumpkin pie spice for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We used the homemade sanfransisco sourdough bread that is also on this site and the french toast was better than any resturant I have ever eaten at delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is good. For a little different flavor, instead of the panko try Cap'n Crunch crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It was absolutely delicious!! I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mixture, otherwise as written. This is the best way to serve individual french toasts to a group. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I used french baguette in this recipe, wow was it GOOD!!! I sprinkled cinnamon on one side of the soaked bread before adding the breadcrumbs. It is quite greasy/oily, I may try using less butter or oil next time. This is an awesome french toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this is soo good :D i didnt even use butter and oil when baking (save some calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved the crunchiness of this french toast. No panko at our house so I used Ritz crackers. It's always my husband's job to squish things into crumbs for my recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States