Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is good. For a little different flavor, instead of the panko try Cap'n Crunch crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was so simple and really delicious! I used my homemade french bread,and I added some cinnamon to the eggs also. I love the crunch that the panko gives to this dish. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used Captain Crunch that was crunched up instead of the Panko Bread Crumbs because that is what I had on hand. Instead of using the butter and oil, I used cooking spray. I used 1 1/2 eggs that were egg whites and this turned out just fine. My cholesterol is a bit high so I felt like this was a needed adjustment. I reduced the milk down to 3/4 C. as well. We're only a family of three and just need 4 slices instead of 8 slices. I also used Lactaid milk since my son is lactose intolerant and this turned out beautifully! I did add a little pumpkin pie spice for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! Very crunchy and flavorful. They were a bit greasy though, so I'll cut down on the oil next time or not use it at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We used the homemade sanfransisco sourdough bread that is also on this site and the french toast was better than any resturant I have ever eaten at delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
It was absolutely delicious!! I added 1 tsp cinnamon to the egg mixture, otherwise as written. This is the best way to serve individual french toasts to a group. We will make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I used french baguette in this recipe, wow was it GOOD!!! I sprinkled cinnamon on one side of the soaked bread before adding the breadcrumbs. It is quite greasy/oily, I may try using less butter or oil next time. This is an awesome french toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this is soo good :D i didnt even use butter and oil when baking (save some calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved the crunchiness of this french toast. No panko at our house so I used Ritz crackers. It's always my husband's job to squish things into crumbs for my recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My boyfriend and his children love to make french toast every Sunday, so this was such a brilliant twist to our humdrum french toast...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States