Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
For the most part I liked this recipe surprisingly a lot! I gave it 4 stars for I made one change: Instead of melting the butter and oil and cooking the bread in it, I left that out and just sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam and decreased the time to 10 minutes on each side. I think next time I will add cinnamon or nutmeg to the egg batter for a little more "kick"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
this is soo good :D i didnt even use butter and oil when baking (save some calories;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phoebe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
We used the homemade sanfransisco sourdough bread that is also on this site and the french toast was better than any resturant I have ever eaten at delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used Captain Crunch that was crunched up instead of the Panko Bread Crumbs because that is what I had on hand. Instead of using the butter and oil, I used cooking spray. I used 1 1/2 eggs that were egg whites and this turned out just fine. My cholesterol is a bit high so I felt like this was a needed adjustment. I reduced the milk down to 3/4 C. as well. We're only a family of three and just need 4 slices instead of 8 slices. I also used Lactaid milk since my son is lactose intolerant and this turned out beautifully! I did add a little pumpkin pie spice for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I didn't have the bread crumbs that were called for, so I used my white bread crumbs. They worked great, nice and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasguardianangel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queensbury, New York, USA
Living In: Indian Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! Very crunchy and flavorful. They were a bit greasy though, so I'll cut down on the oil next time or not use it at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This is good. For a little different flavor, instead of the panko try Cap'n Crunch crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I used cornflakes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Becker Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My kids loved this french toast. I added cinnamon to the egg mixture. I will definatley make this again, just not that often because it is so high in calories ;) Great weekend treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
I used french baguette in this recipe, wow was it GOOD!!! I sprinkled cinnamon on one side of the soaked bread before adding the breadcrumbs. It is quite greasy/oily, I may try using less butter or oil next time. This is an awesome french toast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States