Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We thought this was okay, but it wasn't our favorite. I followed the recipe, but added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
okay, i was born&raised in south louisiana, so we love greasy foods. this was far from too greasy. i changed nothing except for adding a dash of cinnamon to egg mixture&instead of using just milk, i halved it with buttermilk (only b/c i had buttermilk in the fridge that needed to be used). the bread that i used were hot dog buns leftover from the weekend barbeque. i followed directions to the "t",& i am using this recipe right now, so i decided to rate and review it. i highly advise anyone who likes a crispy french toast to give this recipe a try. tweak it with ur own seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, whatever ur preference), or itll be somewhat bland. other than that, the texture is great and they hold their shape just fine. its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was awesome I used Italian Scali bread also added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. One last item was added I sliced a ripe banana and put the banana slices between the bread slices at the point of turning and baking the last 10 minutes. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I used cornflakes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
i didn't have bread crumbs so i took the franken berry holoween cereal to add color and flavor it was so yummy and to make it even better i had pink french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessier12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My boyfriend and his children love to make french toast every Sunday, so this was such a brilliant twist to our humdrum french toast...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We loved the crunchiness of this french toast. No panko at our house so I used Ritz crackers. It's always my husband's job to squish things into crumbs for my recipes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Augusta, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I used Captain Crunch that was crunched up instead of the Panko Bread Crumbs because that is what I had on hand. Instead of using the butter and oil, I used cooking spray. I used 1 1/2 eggs that were egg whites and this turned out just fine. My cholesterol is a bit high so I felt like this was a needed adjustment. I reduced the milk down to 3/4 C. as well. We're only a family of three and just need 4 slices instead of 8 slices. I also used Lactaid milk since my son is lactose intolerant and this turned out beautifully! I did add a little pumpkin pie spice for some more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alr516

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
the breading wasn't bad, but i like french toast much better without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Delicious! Very crunchy and flavorful. They were a bit greasy though, so I'll cut down on the oil next time or not use it at all. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Owens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States