Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My whole family liked this recipe! I will probably use less milk the next time I make it. ..I seemed to have a lot left over and organic milk is expensive! I used coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil, and also added cinnamon! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrisGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was a big hit with the family. We used the thick Texas style bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I thought this was really great! I didn't have plain panko crumbs so I used corn flake crumbs. What a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Amazing. I loved it and it made my house smell amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I used Texas Toast style bread. It turned out great. I put it in my recipe box, definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
These were very tasty! I did make some changes, though; I decided to do French toast sticks (which the kids loved) so I cut whole wheat bread into 4 sticks. I used 1 Tbsp. Flaxseed + 3 Tbsp. Water to replace one of the eggs and use1 cup almond milk. I added 2 tsp. Cinnamon and 3\4 tsp. Each nutmeg and ginger. I used homemade whole wheat bread crumbs and left the sugar out of the egg mixture and added some cinnamon sugar to the crumbs. I greased the pan instead of butter and oil. With these changes, they were amazing! The kids loved them dipped in pure maple syrup, honey, or, as I like it, in homemade pear jam. These are a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is the best french toast I've ever had. I've always made it on top of the stove, never baked it. I thought I was going to have extra batter, but instead, I ended up with just the right amount. I didn't add bread crumbs. I also didn't use quite as much butter and oil as the recipe called for, which caused the french toast to stick a little. It's very filling. Next time I make it, I'll probably use cinnamon raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My fiance loved it! He loves the crunchy texture. I thought it was good, but prefer the traditional french toast more. I prepared the recipe with these few changes - added cinnamon, no butter or oil and cooked it 10 minutes on each side as per previous reviews. Will be making this again for my fiance! Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was good, but we still like the traditional french toast cooked on top of the stove a little better. However, if you were serving a large group of folks, being able to bake a couple sheet pans of bread at one time certainly would be convenient. This is a nice option for french toast and certainly is different (and crunchy, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

French Toast I

You can use virtually any kind of bread to make this easy French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States