Crispy Baked French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This is the best french toast I've ever had. I've always made it on top of the stove, never baked it. I thought I was going to have extra batter, but instead, I ended up with just the right amount. I didn't add bread crumbs. I also didn't use quite as much butter and oil as the recipe called for, which caused the french toast to stick a little. It's very filling. Next time I make it, I'll probably use cinnamon raisin bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
My fiance loved it! He loves the crunchy texture. I thought it was good, but prefer the traditional french toast more. I prepared the recipe with these few changes - added cinnamon, no butter or oil and cooked it 10 minutes on each side as per previous reviews. Will be making this again for my fiance! Thanks for the fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinklet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was good, but we still like the traditional french toast cooked on top of the stove a little better. However, if you were serving a large group of folks, being able to bake a couple sheet pans of bread at one time certainly would be convenient. This is a nice option for french toast and certainly is different (and crunchy, too!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Very good. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Stratford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
We thought this was okay, but it wasn't our favorite. I followed the recipe, but added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
okay, i was born&raised in south louisiana, so we love greasy foods. this was far from too greasy. i changed nothing except for adding a dash of cinnamon to egg mixture&instead of using just milk, i halved it with buttermilk (only b/c i had buttermilk in the fridge that needed to be used). the bread that i used were hot dog buns leftover from the weekend barbeque. i followed directions to the "t",& i am using this recipe right now, so i decided to rate and review it. i highly advise anyone who likes a crispy french toast to give this recipe a try. tweak it with ur own seasonings (cinnamon, nutmeg, sugar, whatever ur preference), or itll be somewhat bland. other than that, the texture is great and they hold their shape just fine. its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This was awesome I used Italian Scali bread also added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. One last item was added I sliced a ripe banana and put the banana slices between the bread slices at the point of turning and baking the last 10 minutes. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rex A. Bryant Sr.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I used cornflakes and sprinkled them with cinnamon sugar. Awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Becker Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
i didn't have bread crumbs so i took the franken berry holoween cereal to add color and flavor it was so yummy and to make it even better i had pink french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessier12

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe! My boyfriend and his children love to make french toast every Sunday, so this was such a brilliant twist to our humdrum french toast...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States