Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
Made as directed, had to cook it a little longer and put it on broil for the last 3min. Served on a bed of mixed greens and used the sauce for the fish and mixed greens. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
First time I've made swai/basa. Not great, probably won't make again. I increased the garlic and used smoked salt but there still was little flavor to the fish. The awesome sauce saved it from being completely flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
most excellent. Where it comes from has nothing to do with the recipe but this would work with most of the less expensive fish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Made this recipe with just a couple of modifications (due to not having the exact ingredients on hand) and LOVED It! The only changes I made were: seasoned the fish with salt, pepper and garlic powder before rolling it in the crumbs, and I used crushed up flavored croutons because I didn't have any melba toast. Also omitted the hot spice in the dip because I have a 5 year old...but even he loved it! It was delicious and I like the fact that this is baked and not fried! Thanks for sharing. It will be a regular in the rotation when I make fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Made the sauce for fish tacos. It was excellent. For lack of ingredients used Tabasco Sauce instead of hot sauce and had to omit the mustard. Also increased the paprika and capers. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Great simple recipe! Good way for me to try basa for myfirst time. I was sadistically surprised at how good the sauce was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmmbaaby
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This recipe was great! My boyfriend and I really loved it. Instead of using the Melba toast, I substituted it with Japanese Panko and placed parsley and sliced lemon on top. Mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmmbaaby

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
First of all, perhaps it’s just a personal aversion, but I did not, would not, could not use basa, “Vietnamese catfish.” Halibut was a much more appealing option to me, tho’ any mild flavored white fish such as haddock, cod or orange roughy could also easily be substituted. (Would not, could not, use tilapia either) That said…this was so good it was memorable. The sauce, in my mind, was exceptionally delicious, the ideal complement for the crispy, delicately flavored fish. I did incorporate my own tweaks – extra capers in the sauce, and Panko crumbs rather than Melba toast – not that I necessarily have anything against Melba toast. More important than the type of crumbs used, I moistened them with olive oil, then added the minced garlic and fresh, chopped parsley. I just placed this atop the halibut rather than rolling the filet entirely in the crumbs. I think all of this ensured they were extra super crispy and I don’t think using essentially half as much crumbs was any sacrifice at all. I served this with simple pasta with Parmesan and garlic and oven roasted asparagus. This meal, this fish, was absolutely, positively exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Made it just like it was written. Loved the taste, and sauce as a side was great. Basa by itself is a very bland fish, but it takes on flavors wonderfully. Next time, I will experiment a bit, maybe cut out the mustard and replace it with some Wasabi instead. It will require some tweaking. Overall, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonnyville, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I left the hot sauce out for I was using the spicy ketchup. Worked great. Didn't use paprika and rolled fish in Iraltian bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Cochrane Daly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States