Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
My family loved this recipe, I'll definately make it again. I didn't have any stone ground mustard, so I used regular, and I skipped the hot sauce because our kids are small. It was great! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I liked this- it was so easy and had a really good flavor. I've never had Basa before- it's a very mild fish. I made the sauce a few hours before dinner (using light mayo). I brushed the olive oil on the fillets and coated them with regular dry bread crumbs- I didn't bother spraying any more olive oil on. These baked up with a nice coating that was pretty crispy even without the extra olive oil. The lemon and garlic on top is a nice addition. Served with Parmesan Noodles from this site and a green salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe is super easy and quick to make!! I used panko (japanese breadcrumbs) instead of the melba toast and I amped up the sauce a bit with extra hot sauce, some lemon juice and a dash of cayenne. My husband and I really loved it and will use this recipe on other white fish like tilapia and sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
Great technique but use cod or another white fish - basa can originate where fish farming practices are questionable (eg China).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merriatta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was very yummy. We had never had basa before but it is a tasty fish. Just a few revisions to the original recipe: I used 1/8 c. light mayo and 1/8 c. light sour cream (instead of 1/4 c. mayo), used chipolte mustard and omitted the hot sauce and also used breadcrumbs instead of the toasts. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My husband and I took one bite of this and agreed that it tastes like we ordered it at a restaurant. We didn't have Melba toast so we just used crushed bread crumbs (shake and bake). I also couldn't find any capers at my grocery store. The sauce tasted great without them. We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Sensational! I made this a few nights ago and the fiance loved it! The sauce is very similar to "fry sauce" that Americans love. To lighten it up however, I used half mayo half plain yogurt (next time I'll stick to the recipe because it became a little runny). I didn't have any Melba toast or crackers on hand so instead I used finely crushed corn flakes. It tasted great compared to the usual bread-and-fry. This is the standard now for making Basa at my place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
Tasty, tasty sauce! My wife loved it, even without the melba crumbs. Must make a point of trying them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Very tasty, with a few alterations. I substituted half sour cream/yogurt for the mayo and eliminated the paprika in favour of Italian seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
First of all, perhaps it’s just a personal aversion, but I did not, would not, could not use basa, “Vietnamese catfish.” Halibut was a much more appealing option to me, tho’ any mild flavored white fish such as haddock, cod or orange roughy could also easily be substituted. (Would not, could not, use tilapia either) That said…this was so good it was memorable. The sauce, in my mind, was exceptionally delicious, the ideal complement for the crispy, delicately flavored fish. I did incorporate my own tweaks – extra capers in the sauce, and Panko crumbs rather than Melba toast – not that I necessarily have anything against Melba toast. More important than the type of crumbs used, I moistened them with olive oil, then added the minced garlic and fresh, chopped parsley. I just placed this atop the halibut rather than rolling the filet entirely in the crumbs. I think all of this ensured they were extra super crispy and I don’t think using essentially half as much crumbs was any sacrifice at all. I served this with simple pasta with Parmesan and garlic and oven roasted asparagus. This meal, this fish, was absolutely, positively exquisite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States