Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was great; flavor and texture. My dinner guests all thought it was delicious! The sauce was a hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I use Kikkoman bread crumbs instead. This is great whether you use regular catfish fillets or Basa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Sensational! I made this a few nights ago and the fiance loved it! The sauce is very similar to "fry sauce" that Americans love. To lighten it up however, I used half mayo half plain yogurt (next time I'll stick to the recipe because it became a little runny). I didn't have any Melba toast or crackers on hand so instead I used finely crushed corn flakes. It tasted great compared to the usual bread-and-fry. This is the standard now for making Basa at my place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Hubby really enjoyed this. Me not so much. A little too soggy for my liking. The sauce was really good. Will save recipe for that for future use on something else. Had to bake much longer than the 15 minutes (almost 30 mins total) for fish to be flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was my first recipe using Basa - good fish, very light, a little meatier than a tilapia. The sauce here, I found, was a bit heavy given the light fish - I prefer a lighter flavor on my fish to keep things healthy. Hubby gave this a 4 star rating tho. Loved the Basa fish itself and would definitely try again, maybe with some additional spices in the breading and skip the heavy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I really liked this recipe. The sauce is great and goes well with the basa. I used whole wheat crumbs and they worked fine. The fish didn't crisp up when baked but it was delicious all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Basa is great for people like me who don't really like fish but eat it because it's healthy. I'd never had it before, and would compare it to tilapia. I was expecting it to taste muddy like catfish, but it really didn't. The only changes I made were to use crushed saltines instead of Melbe toast, and I added garlic powder to the crumb mixture instead of using fresh. I'm still not a fish fan but this turned out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
My family loved this (even the one who hates fish went back for seconds) I didn't spray with olive oil, and that may be why it was a little soggy, but the second time I made it I left the lemons off and used them as a garnish. I also used sesame melba toast which made it delisious. This is on it's way to being a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Not bad. Normally don't eat basa, but this method was pretty good. Used panko breadcrumbs instead and it came out nice and crisp. Didn't use capers in the mayo/ketchup sauce, but that didn't effect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Followed the recipe, but added crunchy salad topping for the last five munutes. Never used allspice with fish, but it was suprisingly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Carrot River, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crispy and Tender Baked Chicken Thighs

See how to roast chicken until crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside.

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States