Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
This was pretty easy. Like other reviewers, I used dijon mustard. The sauce was not at all spicy. The fish was ok, sauce was ok. Was nothing special for me so I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
While this recipe is great, I'd like to recommend using sustainable alternatives to basa: catfish, cod, halibut, flounder, tilapia, scrod, or whiting will all work well in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
My family just loved this! I made a few changes based on what was in my fridge. Instead of melba toast I used cheddar french fried onions and substitued the mayo for sour cream. And I didn't have any capers so I left them. It turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACUMMINGS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
The fish was very tasty cooked this way, and the sauce was very good as well. I did not have capers for the sauce, so I omited that and I used panko bread crumbs on the fish! I served the fish with fresh steamed broccoli. YUMMY all the way around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This recipe was very yummy. We had never had basa before but it is a tasty fish. Just a few revisions to the original recipe: I used 1/8 c. light mayo and 1/8 c. light sour cream (instead of 1/4 c. mayo), used chipolte mustard and omitted the hot sauce and also used breadcrumbs instead of the toasts. Turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was great; flavor and texture. My dinner guests all thought it was delicious! The sauce was a hit as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I use Kikkoman bread crumbs instead. This is great whether you use regular catfish fillets or Basa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Sensational! I made this a few nights ago and the fiance loved it! The sauce is very similar to "fry sauce" that Americans love. To lighten it up however, I used half mayo half plain yogurt (next time I'll stick to the recipe because it became a little runny). I didn't have any Melba toast or crackers on hand so instead I used finely crushed corn flakes. It tasted great compared to the usual bread-and-fry. This is the standard now for making Basa at my place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Hubby really enjoyed this. Me not so much. A little too soggy for my liking. The sauce was really good. Will save recipe for that for future use on something else. Had to bake much longer than the 15 minutes (almost 30 mins total) for fish to be flakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
This was my first recipe using Basa - good fish, very light, a little meatier than a tilapia. The sauce here, I found, was a bit heavy given the light fish - I prefer a lighter flavor on my fish to keep things healthy. Hubby gave this a 4 star rating tho. Loved the Basa fish itself and would definitely try again, maybe with some additional spices in the breading and skip the heavy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States