Crispy Baked Basa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Excellent fish. Scaring the hell out of U.S fish farmers who are spreading lies about the safety of this fish. Also known as Pangasia, check out the following website. http://fis.com/fis/worldnews/worldnews.asp?monthyear=&day=26&id=37400&l=e&special=0&ndb=0
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAZUALKAZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Excellent sauce. I followed some other reviewers' advice and spread the sauce on the fish fillets (omitting the oil) before coating the fish with panko bread crumbs. I have to say it did take more like 20 minutes to bake the fish to flakiness but it was very delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I cut the Basa into "sticks" and coated then baked them for my daycare children. A much healthier option to store bought fish sticks and they loved them. They are so cheap here, they are even a better deal then fish sticks! It is on our weekly menu now. I use ketchup instead of the mayo since they are just preschoolers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good!! I loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
what i did was i dipped the fish in the sauce instead of olive oil then in the batter. so the fish was cooked with the sauce right on it. i can't compare it to the other way but it was really good and great flavour. i also added a lot more hot sauce to the mixture, just personal taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This recipe is super easy and quick to make!! I used panko (japanese breadcrumbs) instead of the melba toast and I amped up the sauce a bit with extra hot sauce, some lemon juice and a dash of cayenne. My husband and I really loved it and will use this recipe on other white fish like tilapia and sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My husband and I took one bite of this and agreed that it tastes like we ordered it at a restaurant. We didn't have Melba toast so we just used crushed bread crumbs (shake and bake). I also couldn't find any capers at my grocery store. The sauce tasted great without them. We will definitely be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBURBANK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I thought this was wonderful. I used Panko crumbs like others suggested. I also put some lemon juice in the sauce. I will definitely be making this again. I served it with some fresh asparagus and a cabbage salad with ginger dressing. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
The sauce tasted real good but was a little on the thick side. I think thinning it out with some lemon juice would work great. The fish didn't get as crispy as I would have liked but it tasted great. Served over a bed of rice with some orange zest tastes good as well. Overall a good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
i brushed the fish with the olive oil and then the mayo mixture, then topped with smashed ritz crackers. it was great! no need to dip...every bite was full of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States