Crispy Bacon and Sweet Onion Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Nice take on an omelet and great technique for cooking! Since my husband is a huge fan of bacon I just had to give this a try and I'm glad I did. This was very filling - perfect for a weekend breakfast for two! I omitted the American cheese and just stuck with the sharp cheddar. The addition of the red pepper flakes gave it a nice kick. This was delicious served with whole grain toast and fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Wonderful technique. Yielded a nice puffy omelet like one gets in a restaurant. Using what I had on hand, I substituted Parmesan and Sharp Cheddar, sauteed frozen pre-chopped onion and bell pepper blend, real bacon bits and pimiento for more color. I'll use this recipe again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Thank you for sharing this super easy technique! I have never had luck with making omelets, but when I saw that other readers were having luck with this method, I decided to give it a try I followed the directions exactly, and added bell pepper and banana peppers with my onion. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Wow!! Awesome Techique! Every time I attempted to make omelets, it was a disaster!! This was super simple, and made GREAT omelets!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Delicious and easy! The first time I ever made a beautiful omelet without it falling apart!!! I spayed my pan, cover and steamed it, put my bacon on it(I always microwave it on paper towels, removes so much of the grease) and simply used salsa then cheddar a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes, melted the cheese with the lid on flipped it over. Just sooo good and easy, breakfast was done in like 5 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseNancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used my own ingredients, but used this recipe for the technique - very good technique. I have been unsuccessful with omelettes in the past, but this one turned out perfect. I did not see any steam venting, so I just added the ingredients when the egg looked cooked through and started to 'bubble'. Produced a nice golden brown omelette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
This was great. I used onion powder and sprinkled chives over the top since i don't care for regular onion. I was skeptical of the cooking method, but it worked great and was easier too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
This was very good. I found that mine got stuck to the pan though. Also, steam at no time came out of my frying pan. I have made this twice spraying my pan with non-stick cooking spray. I think next time I will use olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Seriously! Before tonight, I had NEVER made an omelet in my life. This recipe was well-written. The instructions were easy to follow, and so many reviews insisted that it involved the use of a wonderful technique. So, I tried it... Even the FIRST omelet came out great. Every omelet afterward was a success. I am very happy with this recipe, and highly recommend it for novices and the omelet-challenged. As far as the flavor goes, I only used ham, cheese, salt, and pepper; but, I wouldn't hesitate to use this technique with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desert_rat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I don't care for american cheese, so I omitted it. To bring down the cholesterol and fat, I only used two of the yolks. To make this a more filling breakfast for me, I served it with a side of sauteed red peppers. Very filling and also low in carbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States