Crispy Bacon and Sweet Onion Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Liked it a lot. I think I had too much butter for the onion that made it a little greasier than I would have liked. But that was my fault. The rest came out great and I was surprised I could do it the way it was written. Will definitely have it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Well sadly this method did not work for me, I may have done it wrong but my omelet stuck a little bit. Nothing major but this method took a long time and still didn't turn out perfect so I think I will stick to the quicker way. BUT this recipe was awesome, with a few tweaks. I used nitrate-free bacon, cut out the processed cheese and added tomato and spinach. Also mine really didn't need any salt. This was a good combination of ingredients. I would recommend, but only if you're hungry! This thing is huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbee19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
The best omelette I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I rreally like this recipe very much. First time ever I've gotten an omlett out in one piece. I would add more cheese next time. I didn't have jumbo eggs so I used 4 large instead of 3 jumbo and it worked just fine. Thank you!!! Just wondered though if anyone has tried putting the Bacon, cheese and onion on top of the defy at the beginning of the egg cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
No steam arose from pot so egg got a little overcooked. Cheese and bacon was a little overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have tried seversal times to make an omelet, and they always end up as scrambled eggs, because it does not come out as planned. but this time I read the instructions and it sounded easy so decided to give it a try. As soon as the steam started, I removed the lid and was really surprised at what I saw, it looked like a fluffy souffle. I put on the cheese, bacon, and onions. swirled the skillet around, and slid the omelet out onto a plate. folded it over, let it sit a few seconds, and Voila! ate the best omelet ever. this is one recipe that I will be using over and over again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Nice take on an omelet and great technique for cooking! Since my husband is a huge fan of bacon I just had to give this a try and I'm glad I did. This was very filling - perfect for a weekend breakfast for two! I omitted the American cheese and just stuck with the sharp cheddar. The addition of the red pepper flakes gave it a nice kick. This was delicious served with whole grain toast and fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've always been "omelet" challenged...never comes out right. This recipe has turned me into an omelet novice! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I used a slice of Jarlsberg cheese instead of the American cheese. It came out almost perfect...did have a little trouble sliding it out of the pan, think I let it cook a little too long. Thanks for such a great recipe! I will definitely be making it again...next time I'll have to remember to salt & add crushed red pepper flakes. Was very good!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I had never cooked an omelet using this method before and am really glad I tried this. It was cooked perfectly. Nice and fluffy. Hubby said it was better than ihop. :) It takes a little longer to cook it this way but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Seriously! Before tonight, I had NEVER made an omelet in my life. This recipe was well-written. The instructions were easy to follow, and so many reviews insisted that it involved the use of a wonderful technique. So, I tried it... Even the FIRST omelet came out great. Every omelet afterward was a success. I am very happy with this recipe, and highly recommend it for novices and the omelet-challenged. As far as the flavor goes, I only used ham, cheese, salt, and pepper; but, I wouldn't hesitate to use this technique with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desert_rat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States