Crispy Bacon and Sweet Onion Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I rreally like this recipe very much. First time ever I've gotten an omlett out in one piece. I would add more cheese next time. I didn't have jumbo eggs so I used 4 large instead of 3 jumbo and it worked just fine. Thank you!!! Just wondered though if anyone has tried putting the Bacon, cheese and onion on top of the defy at the beginning of the egg cooking?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
No steam arose from pot so egg got a little overcooked. Cheese and bacon was a little overbearing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I have tried seversal times to make an omelet, and they always end up as scrambled eggs, because it does not come out as planned. but this time I read the instructions and it sounded easy so decided to give it a try. As soon as the steam started, I removed the lid and was really surprised at what I saw, it looked like a fluffy souffle. I put on the cheese, bacon, and onions. swirled the skillet around, and slid the omelet out onto a plate. folded it over, let it sit a few seconds, and Voila! ate the best omelet ever. this is one recipe that I will be using over and over again. thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Nice take on an omelet and great technique for cooking! Since my husband is a huge fan of bacon I just had to give this a try and I'm glad I did. This was very filling - perfect for a weekend breakfast for two! I omitted the American cheese and just stuck with the sharp cheddar. The addition of the red pepper flakes gave it a nice kick. This was delicious served with whole grain toast and fresh fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I've always been "omelet" challenged...never comes out right. This recipe has turned me into an omelet novice! Followed the recipe to a tee, except I used a slice of Jarlsberg cheese instead of the American cheese. It came out almost perfect...did have a little trouble sliding it out of the pan, think I let it cook a little too long. Thanks for such a great recipe! I will definitely be making it again...next time I'll have to remember to salt & add crushed red pepper flakes. Was very good!! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
I had never cooked an omelet using this method before and am really glad I tried this. It was cooked perfectly. Nice and fluffy. Hubby said it was better than ihop. :) It takes a little longer to cook it this way but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Maine, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Seriously! Before tonight, I had NEVER made an omelet in my life. This recipe was well-written. The instructions were easy to follow, and so many reviews insisted that it involved the use of a wonderful technique. So, I tried it... Even the FIRST omelet came out great. Every omelet afterward was a success. I am very happy with this recipe, and highly recommend it for novices and the omelet-challenged. As far as the flavor goes, I only used ham, cheese, salt, and pepper; but, I wouldn't hesitate to use this technique with other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desert_rat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very good technique for cooking the omelet. I only had green onions - I chopped up 3. Because they are so tender anyway, I just put them on top of the eggs to cook together. An omelet is not an omelet w/o butter, so I used that instead of the spray. Didn't have chedder so I used parmesan. I just now realized I left out the salt. Turns out it didn't need it. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chapel Hill, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Unionville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Thank you for sharing this super easy technique! I have never had luck with making omelets, but when I saw that other readers were having luck with this method, I decided to give it a try I followed the directions exactly, and added bell pepper and banana peppers with my onion. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I used my own ingredients, but used this recipe for the technique - very good technique. I have been unsuccessful with omelettes in the past, but this one turned out perfect. I did not see any steam venting, so I just added the ingredients when the egg looked cooked through and started to 'bubble'. Produced a nice golden brown omelette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States