Crispy Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
Very light and crispy, nice flavor, my family gobbled them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
These are excellent cookies, both in flavor and in texture. I did use butter instead of shortening - my default for cookies. I also doubled the almond extract. Otherwise, I followed the recipe faithfully - particularly in terms of instructions. Next time I will adapt a bit by making the log more slender. I prefer a smaller cookie than the 2 inch instruction produced. I rolled the log in sliced almonds - hoping for an almond-studded edge. They simply ended up on the bottom of the cookie by the time baking was done. I plan on making these again and next time will sprinkle them on the top after I sprinkle on the sugar - I used turbinado and it worked very well. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Joy. It is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
Excellent cookies! Kind of reminded me of snickerdoodles except for the almond flavor instead of the cinnamon. I just made a couple small changes like lowering the oven temperature to 350 and I was too impatient to wait for the 4 hours so I rolled them into tsp size balls and flattened them with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Yum! Delicious, rich flavor. I don't think I'll shop around for almond cookie recipes anymore. I didn't refrigerate, either, and rolled them in nuts and sugar, and baked them without flattening. Turned out great! Chewy and crispy - so, so good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
Good cookies. I agree that they do remind me of Snickerdoodles too. Crispy edges, softer center. I also didn't take the time to refrigerate the dough. I rolled spoonfulls into a snake shape and then flattened them on the tray. I got a little confused with the recipe directions though about when to mix in the egg yolks then the baking soda and milk. I had a million bowls with ingredients until I realized they were all supposed to go into the egg yolk bowl. The dough was very think and I had to mix in the almonds by hand kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
Super! I didn't refrig either
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were awesome! I read the reviews and added extra almond extract, also did not refrigerate and rolled dough balls in sugar and crushed almonds. They taste like a sugar cookie with a very nice subtle almond flavor. So glad I found this recipe :) I did not use the egg whites and I also baked at 350 for exactly 11 minutes and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Excellent ***** These are the best, I added extra almond extract and ground almonds. I did not chill the dough, I used a cookie scoop slightly flaten with a fork and sprinkled ground almonds on top. I baked them at 350 degrees for 11 min. they were perfect. This is going to be one of our family favorities. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I made these last year for Christmas and loved them. I'm back to get this recipe to make the again this year. Be careful not to bake too long or they will turn brown and taste burnt. Great to make ahead and bake a few at a time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I REALLY messed about with this recipe and they were still delicious! I substituted 3/4 C flour for almond meal flour , I didn't refrigerate either, just made small balls and gently squished them with a fork. I didn't glaze or add extra sugar.I dropped the oven temp to 350 after 8 mins as they smelled cooked but left them for 10 mins. Came out a beautiful golden color and crisped up nicely on cooling . next time I'm substituting the shortening for butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States