Crispiest Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by NRD
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This is the best apple crisp I have ever made.....Great great great recipe. I was thinking of using the topping on my sweet potato pie for the holidays cant wait to try it. This crisp did not last long in my house. If your a big apple crisp fan you have to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
This recipe is simple and delicious. I did not have any Grape Nuts cereal so substituted some oat cereal and walnuts after chopping them in the food chopper. Cooking the apples in a frying pan with the sauce before putting it in the oven really sped up the cooking time. Everyone enjoyed this dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
OMG, John's nailed it with this recipe. Who needs chocolate when they can have this? Perfect any time of the year and for any occasion. Chef John is my favorite cook here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I used berries instead of apples but followed the recipe exactly for the crisp topping. Was a little disappointed. Don't think it was very good... First, it wasn't near enough to cover the 2 qt baking dish. I had to double the recipe to cover it and I thought the Grape Nuts became soggy instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I really liked this srispier topping in this recipe. I used peaches instead of apples and it came out very well. I added the melted butter to the sauce instead of to the topping and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Pfaff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
A little more work than my other apple crisp recipe but well worth it! Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glenvicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was delicious! great crispy/crunchy topping. Must have some vanilla bean ice cream to go on top :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this today for Easter dinner. WAAAAY too sweet and buttery. Would be so much better with half the sugar and butter, and twice the apples. The flavor was good, just too rich and sweet. The Grape Nuts is a good addition though.....oh well. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
My family loved it. I would add more cinnamon next time. But as is was great...also looks great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Excellent apple crisp!! I watched the video of Chef John preparing it and went exclusively on my own measurements (before I found the written recipe) and it turned out absolutely fabulous! I added 1 1/2 lemon juice and more cinnamon, nutmeg & vanilla. I highly recommend this recipe! So good with vanilla ice cream!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCarolinaGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States