Crispiest Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Great Recipe. I have food allergies so I substituted coconut oil for butter, quinoa flour for all purpose, and Enjoy Life Crunch Flax cereal for Grapenuts. I used Cortland apples so I cut out the 1/4 C white sugar for the topping. I thought it was still very sweet. Tasted best after being chilled. I used a 9 inch deep dish glass pie dish to bake in. It ended up boiling over a little on me, so placed a dark pan under to catch the drippings. Looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent for breakfast or dessert. Our RCIA class just loved it. I made it extra and use whole wheat flour and All Brand Buds. No one was the wiser. They just wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
i followed the recipe and the topping was very generous but it didn't brown...i baked it for 35 minutes and even the edges didn't brown...anyone tell me why? i just took it out of the oven but haven't tasted it yet so don't know how it tastes... kinda anemic looking on top. the top mixture was very dry when i put it on the apples mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Royaune
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it many times. I was first attracted to it because of the title. (Crispiest Apple Crisp) I tried this in its original state and with the grape nuts. If I were to rate it with just that it would be a 3. Yes it is crispy but really didn't care for the grape nuts. However, Chef John does encourage any type of crispy cereal not just the grape nuts therefore I can't give it a 3. In my photo I included the cereal topping I used. It is very crunchy and oh so tasty. It really is hard to screw up an apple crisp. Now for those of you who have asked for gluten free topping here is what I used..... 1/2 cup almond flour 1/4 cup pecan pieces, 3 TBL splenda brown sugar, 1/4 cup splenda white sugar, 1/8-1/4 cup of melted butter, 1/3 cup of rolled oats/oatmeal, at least 1/2 cup of the nature valley honey and oats (pic of NV topping is included with my apple crisp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tastes great but the making of the sugar sauce for the apples is very finicky. It can turn into hard candy the moment the apples are added rendering it useless. I wish that Chef John would spend a bit more time explaining how to navigate the delicate balance between a delicious caramel sauce and burnt candy. In my opinion It's not a recipe for novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Pefley
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is the absolute BEST apple crisp i've ever used! The only thing I did different was to sprinkle a little more cinnamon over the apples before adding the topping and when cooking the apples i noticed the juice was very thin so i sprinkled a little flour into the pot til the juice was thick enough to coat the apples - a tsp or two. The grape nuts are a great addition to the topping and it was very crisp but not hard. Wonderful recipe! I'm anxious to try it with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Pefley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Great Video and directions, BUT this crisp recipe should be called "teethbreakers". The grapenuts become like little jawbreakers and will break your teeth if you are not careful. I like the fact that Chef John had a very unique recipe, but I won't make this ever again, as I don't think my teeth can take it. I also cut the sugar to half the amount and that was plenty of sugar for this recipe. I don't like eating apple crisp where the only thing you can taste is sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is FANTASTIC! Who ever thought Grape-Nuts could taste so good? After loving it as a crisp we've started putting the topping on fruit pies as well. A household favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I tried this and loved it. I didn't have any cereal such as Grape-Nuts so I substituted granola and cut back on the sugar by 1/4 cup (the granola was sweet). I used a mix of cortland apples and granny smith because I like a bit of tartness. It's an outstanding recipe. The crunch is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
this is an easy recipe and outstanding crunch your guest you serve it to will want the recipe It never fail's I have made it several time's and have made it with different fruit's and it is just outstanding have never gotten a complaint always someone want's the recipe... thanks for sharing it will be pasted down to my kid's and there kid's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States