Crispiest Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This is the best apple crisp I have ever had. In fact is was so satisfying that I did not have to eat anything else in the evening. It is filling and tastes marvelous. I put some lemon zest just to perk it up, but nothing else only what was in the receipt. Natalie T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Love this recipe! I keep a large container of the topping in the freezer, and when I have extra apples, or if I need a small foodie gift is needed, this is excellent to whip up in small to medium batches. Just cut up 3-4 apples, cook as directed, top with the crisp topping and bake. Makes a really nice hostess gift...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I made this recipe & the 2 qt baking dish isn't big enough ... it needed a 9x13. It was really good, but I will use the larger baking dish in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
My first apple crisp and it came out very good. I made it vegan by using Earth Balance instead of butter. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Great Recipe. I have food allergies so I substituted coconut oil for butter, quinoa flour for all purpose, and Enjoy Life Crunch Flax cereal for Grapenuts. I used Cortland apples so I cut out the 1/4 C white sugar for the topping. I thought it was still very sweet. Tasted best after being chilled. I used a 9 inch deep dish glass pie dish to bake in. It ended up boiling over a little on me, so placed a dark pan under to catch the drippings. Looked beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent for breakfast or dessert. Our RCIA class just loved it. I made it extra and use whole wheat flour and All Brand Buds. No one was the wiser. They just wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alice Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
i followed the recipe and the topping was very generous but it didn't brown...i baked it for 35 minutes and even the edges didn't brown...anyone tell me why? i just took it out of the oven but haven't tasted it yet so don't know how it tastes... kinda anemic looking on top. the top mixture was very dry when i put it on the apples mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Royaune
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it many times. I was first attracted to it because of the title. (Crispiest Apple Crisp) I tried this in its original state and with the grape nuts. If I were to rate it with just that it would be a 3. Yes it is crispy but really didn't care for the grape nuts. However, Chef John does encourage any type of crispy cereal not just the grape nuts therefore I can't give it a 3. In my photo I included the cereal topping I used. It is very crunchy and oh so tasty. It really is hard to screw up an apple crisp. Now for those of you who have asked for gluten free topping here is what I used..... 1/2 cup almond flour 1/4 cup pecan pieces, 3 TBL splenda brown sugar, 1/4 cup splenda white sugar, 1/8-1/4 cup of melted butter, 1/3 cup of rolled oats/oatmeal, at least 1/2 cup of the nature valley honey and oats (pic of NV topping is included with my apple crisp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Tastes great but the making of the sugar sauce for the apples is very finicky. It can turn into hard candy the moment the apples are added rendering it useless. I wish that Chef John would spend a bit more time explaining how to navigate the delicate balance between a delicious caramel sauce and burnt candy. In my opinion It's not a recipe for novices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carole Pefley
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This is the absolute BEST apple crisp i've ever used! The only thing I did different was to sprinkle a little more cinnamon over the apples before adding the topping and when cooking the apples i noticed the juice was very thin so i sprinkled a little flour into the pot til the juice was thick enough to coat the apples - a tsp or two. The grape nuts are a great addition to the topping and it was very crisp but not hard. Wonderful recipe! I'm anxious to try it with other fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carole Pefley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispiest Apple Crisp

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this the crispiest apple crisp ever!

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Crisp

Dessert that combines apple pie filling with cookie-like topping.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States