Crisp Rice Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
An excellent, happy surprise! As I made these I was unfortunately prepared to be disappointed. The dough was dry and crumbly so I expected the resulting cookie to be the same. NOT! The cookie is just how I like them and don't often get - crunchy! Finally, a crunchy (and crispy too, obviously, from the Rice Krisipies) chocolate chip cookie! Hmmmm, the dry and somewhat crumbly dough made for a crunchy cookie - that makes sense! I suppose if you're not a crunchy cookie lover like I am you could always use half brown sugar instead of all white, or add an extra egg, or a little less flour, or add a little milk, any or all of which would make for a more moist, chewy cookie - or move on to another recipe altogether because this one is just fine as is and I'm sure was designed to have the appealling crunch I love. I used a 1 T. scoop which made for cute, perfectly shaped little cookies, great for popping in your mouth one after another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very good crispy crunchy chocolate chip cookie. I made larger cookies (used a 3T. scoop) and cooked for 15 minutes. Cookies do not spread or flatten much like most other C.C. Cookie recipes. When scooping do not pack dough, cookies present better if the dough is scooped loose. Much easier to work the chips and cereal in by hand (I wore a plastic glove). Next I make these though I will reduce the sugar down to 3/4 cup because I found them to be just a bit too sweet (my preference) and hope that it doesn't change the recipe. Once cooled these cookies are crispy and crunchy all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
LOVE a crisp choc chip cookie :) Want to get creative...next time I may use 1/2 vanilla and 1/2 peppermint extracts, or use some/all mint choc chips, or maybe I'll try orange extract and semi-sweet chips :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Love this recipe will make it again. Great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
EXCELLENT--I'm not sure why the others thought the dough was dry--I followed the recipe exactly, and the dough was perfect. The cookies are outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe, one our whole family loves. We prefer to make giant cookies with this recipe. I make a few changes to this recipe: 4X batch (results in 6 cups flour and 8 cups rice crispies), cut the sugar back to 3 cups for the 4X batch, add an extra egg, and an extra cup of rice crispies (totalling 9 cups for 4X batch). This takes a very large bowl to make, and I literally mix in the rice crispies and chocolate chips with my bare hands, you have to knead it like bread or pottery clay to get it to mix, the batter is very stiff at this point. It takes a lot of dough to make a cookie, so you need a large batch if you want very many cookies. You can use this recipe to make as large of a cookie as you want, press it out to a uniform thickness of about 1/2 inch and shape the edges to the shape you want. You can fill the whole cookie sheet with one cookie - it can be fun to make, and to eat. :) For home use, I usually make 6 inch cookies. To do this I use an empty 28 oz tomato sauce can (that is about 4 inches wide), cut out both ends and use it for the cookie mold. I dump in a big spoonfull of dough and press it down evenly (about 1/2 inch thick) with my applesauce masher. This makes quick/easy, impressive/perfect, and delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are awesome cookies with the right amount of chewy/crunchy texture and are great with milk. These remind me of a recipe I cut off of a rice cereal box back in the 70's and were a favorite of mine. I like to change out the semisweet chips for milk chocolate chips and add a cup of chopped walnuts to the mix. By the way, if you mix in the chips first, then the cereal, it seems to go better. Love the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
My new favorite cookie recipe! I substituted Cocoa Krispies because they were in my pantry; had no problem with consistency of dough. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I followed the recipe to a "T". Although I found the dough to be dry and crumbly, I continued onward, mixing well. I used a TABLESPOON measuring spoon to scoop out little cookie balls and dropping them onto a baking sheet, sprayed with PAM baking spray. The cookies baked nicely at 350 degrees for 12 minutes. What I had were 36 cute little CRISPY chocolate chip cookies. The cookies were a nice light brown color. I could see little rice crispy cereals baked throughout each cookie as well the chocolate chips. I am so glad that these cookies turned out well. If you are looking for a chocolate chip cookie that is crunchy and crispy-this is it! However, I suggest not altering, modifying, or changing the cookie dough in any shape or form, it will turn out fine in the end. I made these for the guys who can easily pop these delicious cookies into their mouths while working. thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These are great, My dough did not seem dry and I followed the directions to a tee. I did the mixing with my kitchen aid. I made a batch with M&Ms also. I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States