Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! Just enough heat and very crunchy! This recipe also works well with other veggies too- cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, or a mixture of whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Just made some "dilly" beans today (then they're ready by Thanksgiving). I get everything fresh from farmer's market. I add 1 tsp cayenne pepper to each quart size jar instead of the flakes. My family loves these as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I make these - this exact recipe came from my Joy Of cooking book. I reduce the vinegar to 1 3/4 cups, add more kosher salt, crush several cloves of garlic and add 8-10 peppercorns and I usually use dried dill weed (cause fresh is hard to find!). I heat the water, vinegar and salt in the microwave while I am snipping the ends off of the green beans and cleaning them. I put the beans, garlic, dill, and peppercorns in the square tupperware container and pour the hot liquid over. Then I refrigerate for one week - they are ready to eat. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe! I have a four year old that despises green beans, but loves pickles . . . she couldn't get enough of them. Thanks a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
These are the best!! I just used regular green beans, but a friend of mine grows japanese green beans and they are long and skinnier, but they are delicious as well! There is nothing I would change to this recipe at all, very very good! You will not only be able to just eat one..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These are great and easy. The only change I made was to add a few mustard seeds to the canning jars. Try these with martinis instead of an olive. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Raves from everyone I served them to! Great recipe! Chef Marian Thompson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I added more pepper flakes for the extra kick and boy did I get that kick! The beans are very firm and not soft like most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This are wonderful! I make these every year to give out for Christmas. They are not hard to do- buy good quality beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have been looking for the recipe for what we call "dilly beans" - YOU HAD IT!!! These are great even kids love them. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Davis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States