Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made these green beans last year and had to look up the recipe again, so also read some of the reviews. First, my family loved them. Second, I used 1/2 the amount of red pepper flakes and there was just enough spice. I preferred the ones with the spice as I made some without. I also ran out of brine, so had to make more during the process. The jars in the picture are pts not half pints. This is a great recipe. I found the salt and vinegar ratios to be fine for us, and I packed the beans pretty tight in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!! This was the first time I ever canned anything and my Dad loves Dilly beans and I made a couple batched. some for him and some for my family. they were great! Only thing I did different is I added the garlic to the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The taste of these dilly beans is fine, but the recipe proportions are all messed up. There is no way 2 1/2 pounds of beans will fit into six 1/2 pint jars. I believe the author meant pint jars (1/2 quart). I used 2 1/2 pounds of beans and doubled everything and put them in pint jars. I also cut the vinegar from 2 1/2C to 2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
First time for me canning stringbeans. These came out great. Real crisp. Added alot more red pepper flakes to each jar. Probably about a teaspoon, if I were to measure. Next time I will even add a bit more because we like it on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
I made these a few weeks ago, & since my Ball canning book had 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, that's what I used. But an excellent condiment! Just enough heat. Very lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reJoyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Medina, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This recipe was cake. No, really. Even *I* was able to make it and not mess it up. And under a half hour, nonetheless. I made only one change and that was adding 1/2 sliced onion, divided, to both jars. That's it. Super simple. I know I have to wait three weeks to try one but I doubt I'll wait that long. It's taking everything I have to sit here and not eat one now. It smells amazing. I'll update my review once I've been able to try one. EDITED: Tried one five hours after it first went in the fridge--THE BEST PICKLED GREEN BEANS I'VE EVER HAD. EVER. BUT, next time, I'd cut back on the salt. The longer it sits, the saltier mine got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Delicious, and certainly crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
i used this along with another recipe- dilly beans came out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angry butterfly
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I couldn't wait the whole three weeks to open my jars, but now that I have I can review it. They are everything they promise! Very crispy! this was my first attempt at canning, and this was pretty easy. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I put in coriander and fennel and they turned out really yummy anyway. They really are very crisp, as much as a fresh bean. I added carrots for color, and the carrots were very good, too. I'm going to make more next time. My only problem was that I didn't have enough brine, but I think that's just because I didn't pack the beans tight enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angry butterfly
Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I really like these. Easier to keep crisp than cukes. I trimmed them in bite size pieces because I thought that would be easier to pack in jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States