Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Turned out well, except 2.5 pounds of green beans were way too much for the 6 jars listed in ingredients. Also, a little too much vinegar for my liking, so reduce the amount a little bit. Made for family and friends and they said they enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Took the advice of some other's posts and used a bit less salt (too salty last time I made them), about a scant 1/8 tsp of cayenne pepper, since I had no red pepper flakes and we don't like it too spicey. Last year's batch was too spicey! I also added in a clove of garlic for each pint, not one for the whole brine batch. I got 5 heaping pints and had to make a bit more brine using, this using 2-1/2 lbs of green beans from our garden. Can't wait to try them! Every other recipe like this I've seen says it makes 4 full pints, not 6 half pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONGDANCING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
GREAT recipe! Made these last year after searching for a dilly-bean recipe. These were better than the ones I grew up eating, the red pepper flakes were a great addition! Very easy to do, it was my first try with canning! I will be making some this week since I just opened my last jar today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
After making a successful batch of these a few years ago, I made 75+ jars as wedding favours. Well the wedding was last weekend, and I've already received tonnes of compliments, and several recipe requests! :) They were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I didn't have fresh dill and wasn't able to find any so I added 1 tsp dried dill weed and 1/2 tsp dried dill seed to each jar. I wanted these to be spicy so I added 1/2 of a jalapeno pepper to each jar. This is a great way to use green beans when they are on sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was really easy! I just made them so my rating will be for the preperation of these. I can't wait to try them and re-rate them. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I made these green beans last year and had to look up the recipe again, so also read some of the reviews. First, my family loved them. Second, I used 1/2 the amount of red pepper flakes and there was just enough spice. I preferred the ones with the spice as I made some without. I also ran out of brine, so had to make more during the process. The jars in the picture are pts not half pints. This is a great recipe. I found the salt and vinegar ratios to be fine for us, and I packed the beans pretty tight in the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Awesome!!!! This was the first time I ever canned anything and my Dad loves Dilly beans and I made a couple batched. some for him and some for my family. they were great! Only thing I did different is I added the garlic to the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The taste of these dilly beans is fine, but the recipe proportions are all messed up. There is no way 2 1/2 pounds of beans will fit into six 1/2 pint jars. I believe the author meant pint jars (1/2 quart). I used 2 1/2 pounds of beans and doubled everything and put them in pint jars. I also cut the vinegar from 2 1/2C to 2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
First time for me canning stringbeans. These came out great. Real crisp. Added alot more red pepper flakes to each jar. Probably about a teaspoon, if I were to measure. Next time I will even add a bit more because we like it on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States