Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by angry butterfly
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I couldn't wait the whole three weeks to open my jars, but now that I have I can review it. They are everything they promise! Very crispy! this was my first attempt at canning, and this was pretty easy. I didn't have red pepper flakes, so I put in coriander and fennel and they turned out really yummy anyway. They really are very crisp, as much as a fresh bean. I added carrots for color, and the carrots were very good, too. I'm going to make more next time. My only problem was that I didn't have enough brine, but I think that's just because I didn't pack the beans tight enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angry butterfly
Home Town: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I really like these. Easier to keep crisp than cukes. I trimmed them in bite size pieces because I thought that would be easier to pack in jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I've made this a few times now and It's my Dads favorite. All I change is leave out pepper flakes and add one pickled jallapeno slice to each jar. Only chaged it because that's what I had onhand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
These were very flavorful and delicious!! And I have to say easy to make. I will be making these every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Delicious! Just made them and they turned out great...just a little too salty. Personally, I would cut back on some of the salt and add just a lil' bit more of water. Other than that...good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This receipe is awesome!! It is easy and works well with cucumbers and other veggies. I added some mustard, celery ceed and black peppercorns. Everyone who has tried the beans and the veggies have raved about them. (a little pickle crisp helps). Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made these for the first time ever. Since we have SOOO many green beans in our garden, I thought it was worth a try. We tried them the next day and they were great! Crispy with just a little zing. Can't wait to see what they taste like in 3 weeks. I followed the recipe except I put garlic in with the green beans. Going to get some more dill and do another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wurtsboro, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
These were wonderful! Just enough red pepper to give them a kick, but not too much to make your mouth burn. Loved them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really lovely and crisp. Maybe slightly on the acidic side, next time I may use a tiny bit more water. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doitmyselfmama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
We use these in bloody mary's and it's GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States