Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I had to double my brine! I suppose probably because my neighbor doesnt grow very straight beans that we were unable to pack the jars perfectly tight. I asked my mom "who grows straight beans anyway" and her reply was "Costco". Hah. So keep in mind if you dont have Costco beans that you might need way more brine than the recipe calls for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Blight

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I've been using this recipe for years & canned 40 jars yesterday. The only change I make is I add a jalapeno pepper (instead of red pepper flakes) to each jar for a bit of heat... they're perfect in Bloody Mary's...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I have been making dill pickle green beans for more than 45years you change them up by using cider vinegar and any kind of hot pepper such as red or green chili peppers. I also do small carrots the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My family was crazy about these crunchy pickles! First time I every pickled green beans. It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Obviously the author meant to use 6 pint jars which works perfectly for this recipe. the stores charge 6 to 8 bucks for a jar of these. bloody mary's here I come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I have made these before and they are very tasty and are best in Bloody Marys. I add extra about 1/4 to 1/2 tsp. of minced garlic into each jar and put 2 Tablespoons of red pepper flakes into the brine for extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Harvest, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
these turned out just great thanks for recipe easy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy McKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Question on how to store after proper canning takes place.... Shelf the cooled jars or must they be refrigerated?? Once I get these done I will properly adjust the rating, but for now I'm curious as to how to store these!!! Thanks in advance!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
My first batch was delicious and I'm not even that crazy about green beans!!!! The recipe is so easy that I was brave enough to experiment a bit and the 2nd batch was even better! Its so easy to tweak to your own taste preference. I added a whole thinly sliced red sweet onion which colored the juice a bit but they taste amazing! I added a few sliced jalapeno rings (seeds and all) to add just a bit of heat. I also added some minced garlic to the juice mix. I'm going to try another batch with sliced peppers and spears of asparagus!! Thank you for submitting!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Made these last year because my dad had so many green beans in his garden, and my boyfriend begged me to make them again this year!! They are always a hit! I like a little more garlic in my beans however, so I drop a clove or two into each jar with the dill and the red pepper flakes and it adds a nice bite to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States