Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made up some of these and couldn't wait the 2-3 weeks before I tested them. They're really yummy and the red pepper flakes givs them a kick! I couldn't find fresh dill so I used dried. The jars would look prettier with a fresh dill sprig in each one, but I still enjoy the taste of these without the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a really great thing to do with green beans when your garden is full of them.. I made some up to try and to my surprise they are wonderful. My 7 year old daughter loves them, a little spicy but I also added cider vinegar with the white and I also used wax beans. Very yummy will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bridgewater Corners, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
These were wonderful! My daughters, ages 7 and 11, loved them asked kept asking for more and more! We are pickle lovers and now have added dilled green beans to our repertoire of snacks. Trust me, once you eat three... you are hooked. The red pepper gave them a nice zing - but not too hot, and they are very crunchy. I'll make these again and again - such a wonderfully healthy snack for my girls. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I use them as pickles on sandwiches. I added 1/3 a jalapeno to make it hot. To die for!!! Thanks for the recipe. It is bound to be a family fav for a long time. I have made 4 batches so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is the same as my aunt's that we have been making for years - it's one of our family tradition, too! It's a wonderful treat - they come out crisp, tasty and not too spicy. If I have beans that are irregular, I cut them into two inches pieces and then pack and process as specified. I have also substituted several dashes of cayenne pepper or our favorite hot sauce instead of using pepper flakes. I like the fresh dill best, but have also used a tsp of dill seed or dried dill weed (or a combination of the two) if I can't get dill heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My sister-in-law gave me the recipe for these. But she adds a approx. 1/4 c apple cider vinegar. These go absolutely great in a bloody mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I have been looking for the recipe for what we call "dilly beans" - YOU HAD IT!!! These are great even kids love them. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann127

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
fabulous, easy, delicious. I also added carrots and use strips of fresh chili peppers instead of dried, any kind, depending on your spice meter. I'm going to try it with cucumbers next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This are wonderful! I make these every year to give out for Christmas. They are not hard to do- buy good quality beans though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe. I added more pepper flakes for the extra kick and boy did I get that kick! The beans are very firm and not soft like most recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States