Crisp Pickled Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
This recipe is the same as my aunt's that we have been making for years - it's one of our family tradition, too! It's a wonderful treat - they come out crisp, tasty and not too spicy. If I have beans that are irregular, I cut them into two inches pieces and then pack and process as specified. I have also substituted several dashes of cayenne pepper or our favorite hot sauce instead of using pepper flakes. I like the fresh dill best, but have also used a tsp of dill seed or dried dill weed (or a combination of the two) if I can't get dill heads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neerland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I make these - this exact recipe came from my Joy Of cooking book. I reduce the vinegar to 1 3/4 cups, add more kosher salt, crush several cloves of garlic and add 8-10 peppercorns and I usually use dried dill weed (cause fresh is hard to find!). I heat the water, vinegar and salt in the microwave while I am snipping the ends off of the green beans and cleaning them. I put the beans, garlic, dill, and peppercorns in the square tupperware container and pour the hot liquid over. Then I refrigerate for one week - they are ready to eat. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
152 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
My sister-in-law gave me the recipe for these. But she adds a approx. 1/4 c apple cider vinegar. These go absolutely great in a bloody mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe is AWESOME!!! I use them as pickles on sandwiches. I added 1/3 a jalapeno to make it hot. To die for!!! Thanks for the recipe. It is bound to be a family fav for a long time. I have made 4 batches so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Excellent! Just enough heat and very crunchy! This recipe also works well with other veggies too- cauliflower, carrots, cabbage, bell peppers, or a mixture of whatever you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This is a really great thing to do with green beans when your garden is full of them.. I made some up to try and to my surprise they are wonderful. My 7 year old daughter loves them, a little spicy but I also added cider vinegar with the white and I also used wax beans. Very yummy will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guilford, Vermont, USA
Living In: Bridgewater Corners, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This recipe was cake. No, really. Even *I* was able to make it and not mess it up. And under a half hour, nonetheless. I made only one change and that was adding 1/2 sliced onion, divided, to both jars. That's it. Super simple. I know I have to wait three weeks to try one but I doubt I'll wait that long. It's taking everything I have to sit here and not eat one now. It smells amazing. I'll update my review once I've been able to try one. EDITED: Tried one five hours after it first went in the fridge--THE BEST PICKLED GREEN BEANS I'VE EVER HAD. EVER. BUT, next time, I'd cut back on the salt. The longer it sits, the saltier mine got.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I made up some of these and couldn't wait the 2-3 weeks before I tested them. They're really yummy and the red pepper flakes givs them a kick! I couldn't find fresh dill so I used dried. The jars would look prettier with a fresh dill sprig in each one, but I still enjoy the taste of these without the fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These are great and easy. The only change I made was to add a few mustard seeds to the canning jars. Try these with martinis instead of an olive. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laidback

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The taste of these dilly beans is fine, but the recipe proportions are all messed up. There is no way 2 1/2 pounds of beans will fit into six 1/2 pint jars. I believe the author meant pint jars (1/2 quart). I used 2 1/2 pounds of beans and doubled everything and put them in pint jars. I also cut the vinegar from 2 1/2C to 2C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States